Friday, July 12, 2024
HomeFantasyCricketWhich players hold the 6 balls 6 fours record in IPL?

Which players hold the 6 balls 6 fours record in IPL?

Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane are the only two Indian cricketers to hold the 6 balls 6 fours record in IPL. The fast-paced Indian Premier League pit batsmen against the best of talents from India’s domestic circuit as well as the world circuit. Hence, hitting six boundaries in consecutive balls is no mean feat.

The T20 cricket has always been ruled by the big hitters with the likes of Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and the others have flourished over the last two decades. Hence, the emergence of stroke players always brings up the excitement amongst fans.

Players to hold 6 balls 6 fours record in IPL

DateIPL MatchBatsmanVs BowlerVenue
April 15, 2012Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreAjinkya Rahane (RR)Sreenath Aravind (RCB)M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
April 29, 2021Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals Prithvi Shaw (DC)Shivam Mavi (KKR)Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Ajinkya Rahane becomes the first batsman to hit six fours on consecutive balls in IPL

It was the 18th match of IPL 2012 where Rajasthan Royals would visit Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium to face Royal Challengers Bangalore in a league clash. Opting to bat first, RR would see Ajinkya Rahane and Rahul Dravid open to provide a 62-run partnership at the top. England’s Owais Shah would come first down for Rajasthan to forge a formidable 121-run stand during which this historic feat would take place.

It took place in the 14th over when RCB skipper Daniel Vettori would hand over the ball to Sreenath Aravind. RR were 82/1 after the 13th over with run-rate hovering at 6.30 with a chaseable target at RCB’s sight. However, things changed rapidly as Rahane took Aravind to the boundary rope six times. After the first ball was hit straight for a boundary, Rahane had only bettered that same shot on the second before sending the third ball over behind the wicket-keeper AB de Villiers. The fourth ball was pulled over towards the mid-wicket as Aravind was visibly under pressure, having conceded four boundaries on the trot.

His fifth ball was a full toss, and Rahane had calmly dismantled it to yet another boundary with a classy cover drive. Everyone had held their breath for the sixth and the final ball and Rahane would do the unbelievable. The opener waited longer for the ball to come before hitting it and directing it towards the third man boundary. The Mumbai batsman became the first-ever IPL batsman to hit six boundaries in an over.

RR would eventually go on to score 195 runs in 20 overs riding on Rahane’s 103-run unbeaten knock. Apar for Aravind, West Indies all-rounder Chris Gayle was also hit for 21 runs in an over and RCB could never recover from the poor bowling performance. In return, the hosts could score only 136 runs before getting all-out in the 19.5 overs.

Prithvi Shaw recreates history against KKR

While the Indian Premier League has seen numerous records getting broken over the past 14 seasons, hardly many expected Rahane’s 6 balls 6 fours record in IPL to be replicated. However, it took place nine years later by the young Delhi Capitals’ Prithvi Shaw while playing against two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders.

Batting first, KKR had posted a target of 154, riding on significant knocks from Shubman Gill and Andre Russell. And having mystery spinners like Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy on the KKR side, DC knew that their task wasn’t an easy one. However, Shaw had other plans as he took the opening position alongside Shikhar Dhawan in the second innings.

KKR captain Eoin Morgan had handed the ball to an inexperienced Shivam Mavi, who ended up bowling the worst opening over in the history of IPL. Starting with a wide ball that had already thrown the bowler off gear, Shaw hit the ball over the bowler’s head on the very first ball. The second ball was fuller, and Shaw would tweak it towards mid-wicket for yet another boundary.

The third and the fourth boundary were sent to the right sweeper, with Shaw looking in supreme form as a young Mavi struggled to find his footing. The fifth ball from the underconfident bowler was a short one, and Shaw was waiting for it. The Delhi openers sliced it towards the backward point for yet another boundary, with the stats team digging up Rahane’s nine-year-old feat to compare and contemplate if history would repeat itself.

Shaw was determined to achieve it after coming so close, and when Mavi bowled a length ball outside off, Shaw hit it over extra cover for the sixth consecutive boundary of the over. What made Shaw’s feat more special was it’s timing. While Rahane had taken his time to settle in and score 48 runs before hitting six boundaries off Sreenath Aravind, Shaw had hit top gear in the first over itself.

Delhi would chase down the target in just 16.3 overs with Shaw ending his innings at 82 off 41 balls. He ended his innings with 11 boundaries and three sixes.

6 balls 6 fours record in international cricket

MatchPlayerVs Bowler
England vs India Test, 1982 Sandip Patil (India)Bob Willis (England)
England vs West Indies, 2004Chris Gayle (West India)Matthew Hoggard (England)
West Indies vs India, 2006Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)Munaf Patel (India)
Sri Lanka vs Australia, 2015 ICC World CupTillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)Michell Johnson (Australia)
Sri Lanka vs England, 2007Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)James Anderson (England)


Which player has hit 6 balls 6 fours in ODI cricket?

Former Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan has hit six boundaries in six consecutive balls in ODI cricket during the 2015 ICC ODI World Cup. Dilshan had hit Australia’s Mitchell Johsnon for six fours in an over.

Which players have hit 6 balls 6 fours in international cricket?

There are five players who have hit six consecutive boundaries in international cricket. They are:

  • Sandip Patin against England (Test match), 1982
  • Chris Gayle against England (Test match), 2004
  • Ramnaresh Sarwan vs India (Test match), 2006
  • Sanath Jayasuriya vs England (Test match), 2007
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan vs Australia (ODI World Cup), 2015
Which players have hit 6 fours in an over of Test cricket?

Four players have managed to hit 6 fours in an over of Test cricket. They are India’s Sandip Patil, West Indies’ Chris Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan and Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya.

Which players have hit the most consecutive fours in IPL?

While Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw have the most consecutive fours (6) in IPL, they are followed by Sachin Tendulkar, Adam Gilchrist and Mahela Jayawardene – all of whom have hit five consecutive boundaries in IPL. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23