Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Top Blogs Get the complete BBL winners list

Get the complete BBL winners list

Perth Scorchers have dominated the BBL winners list so far, winning the Big Bash League four times in 11 editions, which is the most in the competition’s history. Moreover, Perth Scorchers have also been the runners-up on three occasions in BBL history.

BBL winners list over the years

2021-22Perth Scorchers171/6Sydney Sixers92/10Perth Scorchers won by 79 runs
2020-21Sydney Sixers188/6Perth Scorchers161/9Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs
2019-20Sydney Sixers116/5Melbourne Stars97/6Sydney Sixers won by 19 runs
2018Melbourne Renegades145/5Melbourne Stars132/7Melbourne Renegades won by 13 runs
2017Adelaide Strikers202/2Hobart Hurricanes177/5Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
2016Perth Scorchers144/1Sydney Sixers141/9Perth Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2015Sydney Thunder181/7Melbourne Stars176/9Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets
2014Perth Scorchers148/6Sydney Sixers147/5Perth Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2013Perth Scorchers191/4Hobart Hurricanes152/7Perth Scorchers won by 39 runs
2012Brisbane Heat167/5Perth Scorchers133/9Brisbane Heat won by 34 runs
2011Sydney Sixers158/3Perth Scorchers156/8Sydney Sixers won by 7 wickets

2011/12 -First season (Sydney Sixers)

Australia started their premier T20 competition Big Bash League (BBL) during 2011-12 season. The eight-team competition saw 31 matches being played with each side playing the other only once. At the end of the league stage, Perth Scorchers topped the BBL points table with five wins and two losses. Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Sixers also had the same number of wins and were only divided due to NRR. The fourth and final team to qualify for the semi-final was Melbourne Stars. After winning their respective semi-finals, Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers locked horns in the final. The Sixers chased down the score of 157 runs comfortably to end up lifting the inaugural title of BBL.

2012/13 – Second season (Brisbane Heat)

The second edition of BBL witnessed an increase in the number of matches from 31 to 35. Melbourne Renegades topped the table with a stunning seven wins from eight matches but they couldn’t qualify for the final. It was Perth Scorchers yet again who made it to the summit clash and this time, Brisbane Heat locked horns with them. Once again, the Scorchers ended up being the runners up after falling 34 runs short in the chase. Brisbane Heat were the new champions of BBL in the 2012-13 edition.

2013/14 – 3rd season (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers finally managed to win a title with some terrific performances in the 2013-14 season of BBL. They ended the league stage at the third position with five wins in 8 matches and then defeated the Sydney Sixers in the semi-final. The Simon Katich-led side then smashed 191 runs batting first in the final to win the game by 39 runs against Hobart Hurricanes. They became the BBL winners for the first time in three seasons.

2014/15 – Fourth season (Perth Scorchers)

History was created in the fourth edition of the BBL that was played in the 2014-15 season. For the first time, a team successfully defended the title with Perth Scorchers winning the trophy for the second consecutive season. This time they got the better of the Sydney Sixers in the final chasing down 148 runs in the last-ball thriller. Adam Voges was the captain this time for the Scorchers but he made sure to carry the legacy of Simon Katich from last edition.

2015/16 – Fifth season (Sydney Thunder)

BBL 2015-16 season was memorable for Sydney Thunder. They made it to the knockouts for the first time in five editions and ended up winning the silverware. This was also the first time that Perth Scorchers didn’t make it to the final losing to the eventual runners-up Melbourne Stars. Sydney Thunder, led by evergreen Michael Hussey, showcased immense grit and chased down 177 in the last over thriller.

2016/17 – Sixth season (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers were back to winning the title BBL title in the 2016-17 season. They topped the points table this time with five wins and three losses in the league stage. The juggernaut continued in the knockouts, with Scorchers thumping Melbourne Stars in the semi-final and smashing the Sydney Sixers in the final by nine wickets. Michael Klinger led the way for them in the meagre 142-run chase in the summit clash.

2017-18 – Seventh season (Adelaide Strikers)

BBL 2017-18 witnessed a change in format with 43 T20 matches being played in the season. Every team played 10 matches in the league stage and Perth Scorchers yet again topped the points table. But this time, Adelaide Strikers won the tournament. They got out of jail to beat Melbourne Renegades in the semi-final by one run and then defeated Hobart Hurricanes by 25 runs to win the BBL for the first time.

2018-19 – Eighth season (Melbourne Renegades)

BBL decided to go the IPL way in the 2018-19 season with the introduction of home and away format. A total of 59 T20s were played and at the end of the league stage, Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Renegades were the top two teams in the points table. Melbourne Renegades, led by Aaron Finch, stunningly defended 146 runs in the final against Melbourne Stars to win the trophy for the first time.

2019-20 – Ninth season (Sydney Sixers)

Sydney Sixers began their BBL journey with the trophy and they ended the decade with a trophy as well. The organisers introduced a unique playoffs format from this season. Sydney Sixers lost the Qualifier to Melbourne Stars but they managed to return the favour when it mattered the most, in the final. In a rain-curtailed 12-over per side match, the Sixers posted 116 runs, thanks to Josh Philippe’s 52-run assault. In response, the Melbourne Stars were never in the chase and could only reach 97 runs to hand the Sixers their second BBL trophy.

2020-21 – Tenth season (Sydney Sixers)

Sydney Sixers became the second team after Perth Scorchers to defend a title in BBL. They looked like a team to beat right through the league stages and managed to top the points table as well with nine wins in 14 matches. They thumped the Perth Scorchers in the qualifier by nine wickets and then again dominated them in the final by winning by 27 runs to seal their third BBL trophy in history.

2021-22 – Eleventh season (Perth Scorchers)

Perth Scorchers were back in the business in the 2021-22 BBL season. They became the most successful team in the history of BBL by winning their fourth trophy. The team looked a class apart in the league stage topping the table with a whopping 11 wins in 14 outings. Deservingly, they ended up winning the Championship as well with a thumping 79-run win over Sydney Sixers in the final. Scorchers recovered from 25/4 in the final to post 171 runs and then easily defended the total.


Women’s BBL winners list

The teams to win the Women’s BBL are – Sydney Thunder (2 times), Sydney Sixers (2 times), Brisbane Heat (2 times), Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers.

Who are the captains to have won the BBL?

Captains to have won the BBL are – Steve Smith (Sydney Sixers), Chris Hartley (Brisbane Heat), Simon Katich (Perth Scorchers), Adam Voges (Twice – Perth Scorchers), Michael Hussey (Sydney Thunder), Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers), Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades), Moises Henriques (Twice – Sydney Sixers), Ashton Turner (Perth Scorchers).

Which is the most successful team in the BBL?

Perth Scorchers is the most successful team in the BBL having won the trophy four times.

Who won the first and the last edition of the BBL?

Sydney Sixers won the first edition of the BBL while Perth Scorchers won the last edition of the BBL.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular