Adelaide Strikers – Champions of Big Bash League 2017-18



Formed in 2011, the Adelaide Strikers were the runners-up in BBL 2015 and 2016 before finally clinching their maiden trophy in 2018. They got the better of Hobart Hurricanes at their home ground to win the coveted silverware. Adelaide failed to qualify for the knockouts in the first three seasons of the tournament before becoming the losing finalist for two consecutive seasons. In all, they have made it to the knockouts five out of 10 times. 

Adelaide Strikers: Big Bash League Results With Captains

2020-2021Travis Head / Peter SiddleFifth place
2019-2020Alex Carey/Peter SiddleThird place
2018-2019Colin IngramSeventh place
2017-2018Travis HeadChampions
2016-2017Brad HodgeSixth place
2015-2016Brad HodgeFirst place
2014-2015Brad HodgeFirst place
2013-2014Johan Botha/Philip HughesSeventh place
2012-2013Johan BothaFifth place
2011-2012Michael KlingerSixth place

It was not until BBL 4 that the Adelaide Strikers finished in the top four of the points table. Their first-ever captain Michael Klinger was terrific as a player but couldn’t replicate the same as a captain in the inaugural edition. Subsequently, Johan Botha was at the helm for the next two seasons, but much like Klinger, he could not take the team to the knockouts. However, in 2015 and 2016, the Strikers reached two consecutive finals under Brad Hodge’s captaincy. Under Hodge, the Strikers won 10 of their 17 games, but a better captain was yet to come. 

For the 2017 season, the franchise roped in Travis Head as their skipper, who led the Strikers to their first-ever title. That same year, they signed Afghanistan spin sensation Rashid Khan, who has been the team’s highest wicket-taker three seasons in a row. 

Some of the big names to have played for the franchise are Mahela Jayawardene, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Kieron Pollard and Shakib Al Hasan. 

Adelaide Strikers Squad for BBL 2021-22

Batsman: Ryan Gibson, Travis Head, Thomas Kelly, Matt Renshaw, Matthew Short, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells

Wicket-keeper: Alex Carey, Harry Nielsen

All-Rounder: George Garton, Liam Scott

Bowler: Daniel Worrall, Rashid Khan, Liam O’Connor, Spencer Johnson, Fawad Ahmed, Harry Conway, Wes Agar, Peter Siddle (captain) 

Peter Siddle captained the Strikers for a few games last season and has retained his role for this season. Some of the players from the 2020 squad that have been released for 2021 are bowling all-rounders Cameron Valente and Michael Neser and fast bowler Danny Briggs. 

Alex Carey and Travis Head will not be playing most of the games this season as they are with the Australian Test team for the Ashes. Rashid Khan will once again be the player to watch out for. 

Adelaide Strikers: BBL 2021-22 Fixtures

Dec 7, 2021
Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide StrikersMarvel Stadium13:15
Dec 9, 2021
Adelaide Strikers vs
Melbourne Renegades
Adelaide Oval13:15
Dec 11, 2021
Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide StrikersOptus Stadium10:30
Dec 21, 2021
Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide StrikersSydney Cricket
Dec 23, 2021
Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane HeatAdelaide Oval13:15
Dec 27, 2021
Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide StrikersBlundstone Arena12:35
Dec 31, 2021
Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney ThunderAdelaide Oval13:15
Jan 2, 2022
Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide StrikersSydney Showground13:15
Jan 5, 2022
Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart HurricanesAdelaide Oval12:35
Jan 7, 2022
Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne StarsAdelaide Oval13:15
Jan 10, 2022
Melbourne Stars vs Adelaide StrikersMelbourne Cricket
Jan 12, 2022
Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide StrikersThe Gabba13:15
Jan 14, 2022
Adelaide Strikers vs Perth ScorchersAdelaide Oval14:45
Jan 18, 2022
Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney SixersAdelaide Oval13:15

The Numbers that Matter

Batting Stats

Jake Weatherald, who the Adelaide Strikers signed in 2016, is their highest run-scorer. The top-order batter has 1714 runs at an average and strike rate of 27.64 and 132.55. Quite unsurprisingly, the 27-year-old has also scored the highest individual score for the Strikers (115). Besides that, Weatherald has also scored the most fifties (12) for the side. 

Bowling Stats

It is not much of a surprise that leg-spinner Rashid Khan is the highest wicket-taker for the Adelaide Strikers. The spin sensation has 72 wickets to his name since becoming a part of the Strikers family in 2017.

Team Stats

Adelaide were the runners-up in 2015 and 2016 before winning their first-ever title in 2018. The highest total they have recorded is 207/8 against the Hobart Hurricanes in 2020. Their lowest total – 68 all out – came against the Melbourne Stars in the 2021 edition. Their largest victory came against the Brisbane Heat in 2021, when they won by 82 runs. 

Adelaide Strikers: Rivalries

OpponentMatches PlayedWonLostWin Percentage (%)
Sydney Thunder147750
Melbourne Stars137661.53
Brisbane Heat148657.14

Sydney Thunder

Going by the head to head record of Sydney Thunder and the Strikers, it is clear that both teams do not give an inch to each other. However, the rivalry began when the Thunder beat the Strikers in the final of the 2015-16 season. Both the teams have registered some comprehensive wins against each other over the years, and there have been a few close contests.

Melbourne Stars

Another team against which the Strikers have a competitive record is the Melbourne Stars. They have won 7 out of 13 games against them. In the 2019-20 season, Melbourne won by 111 runs, for which Adelaide will be seeking revenge this season. 

Brisbane Heat 

Strikers and Brisbane Heat have played 14 matches between them, of which the former has won eight. In 2020, the Strikers won by two runs in a down to the wire game, and the rivalry was further reinstated when the Heat knocked out Strikers in the eliminator last year. 

Road Ahead for Adelaide Strikers 

While the Strikers do not exactly lack firepower in the team, the absence of Alex Carey and Travis Head for most of the 2021-2022 season could affect their performance. In the batting department, Jake Weatherald will be the crucial player, while among the bowlers, the performance of Rashid Khan will be crucial. Wes Agar, who picked up 22 wickets in 15 games last season, will be another bowling weapon with the Strikers.