Melbourne Stars: Hunt for glory continues


Melbourne Stars BBL History

Melbourne Stars have been a consistent franchise in the Big Bash League, having only twice failed to reach the final four stages. However, stars haven’t aligned the way they would have wanted in their case, and what haunts them is the absence of a trophy despite coming close so many times. They have lost three finals thus far, the most recent one in 2019/20 to their Melbourne rivals, Renegades. They will aspire to turn the tables in the 2021-22 season, having finished 7th last season. Melbourne Stars play their home games at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Melbourne Stars: Big Bash League Results With Captains

2020-21Glenn Maxwell7th place
2019-20Glenn MaxwellRunners-up
2018-19Glenn MaxwellRunners-up
2017-18Glenn Maxwell8th place 
2016-17David HusseySemi-finals
2015-16David HusseyRunners-up
2014-15Cameron WhiteSemi-finals
2013-14Cameron WhiteSemi-finals
2012-13Cameron White/Shane WarneSemi-finals
2011-12Cameron WhiteSemi-finals

In the last four seasons, they have persisted with Glenn Maxwell as captain of the franchise, and the all-rounder has propelled them to the final on two occasions, but they have lost both. The side finished 7th (2021) and 8th (2018) in the other two seasons. They have always had a heavyweight squad from the inaugural season and reached the tournament’s semifinals for 4 successive editions from 2011 to 2015. However, that was all they could manage.

It sparked an incredible amount of criticism towards the team for not showing up in the knockout games when it matters the most. David Hussey took charge of the franchise in 2015/16, and in that season, they went one step ahead and reached the final for the first time. They put up a big total batting first in the final, but Usman Khawaja powered the Sydney Thunder to their maiden success, leaving further agony for the franchise from Victoria. 

In his second season as captain, Hussey once again played a crucial role in helping the side reach the semifinal, but that was all they could manage. Glenn Maxwell took over for the first time in 2017 and has remained in that position to the current day. He led the side in 33 games, more than any other player for this franchise, and holds a win percentage of just over 60. 

They seemed to have the BBL 2019 final against Melbourne Renegades in control, but they fell apart in the run chase and conceded a win. In 2020, a rain-marred final perpetrated another disappointment for the franchise, which meant they had lost 3 finals, more than any other team in BBL history at that point, and Perth equalled that record after losing the 2021 final. 

Consistency has not been a problem for this club, but to get results when it matters has always been a chink in the armour. 

Also Read: Everything you want to know about the Big Bash T20 Fantasy League

Melbourne Stars squad for BBL 2021-22

Batters: Joe Burns, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Beau Webster

Allrounders: Glenn Maxwell (C), Hilton Cartwright, Marcus Stoinis, Sam Rainbird, Andre Russell

Wicketkeeper: Seb Gotch, Joe Clarke, Peter Nevill

Bowlers: Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Hatcher, Tom O’Connell, Billy Stanlake, Adam Zampa, Samuel Elliott, Qais Ahmad, Syed Faridoun, Sam Elliott, Brody Couch

Their batting department doesn’t look as solid as it used to, with a lot of inexperience and inconsistency being major concerns. Andre Russell has proven himself to be a major addition to this setup. His experience, alongside Stoinis and Maxwell, will be pivotal for their aspirations to go all the way.

BBL 2021-22 fixtures for the Stars

Date & DayFixtureVenueTime (IST)
December 5, 2021, SundaySydney Sixers vs Melbourne StarsSydney Cricket Ground1:15 PM
December 10, 2021, FridayMelbourne Stars vs Sydney ThunderMelbourne Cricket Ground1:45 PM
December 12, 2021, SundaySydney Thunder vs Melbourne StarsSydney Showground Stadium1:45 PM
December 15, 2021, WednesdayMelbourne Stars vs Sydney SixersMelbourne Cricket Ground1:45 PM
December 24, 2021, FridayHobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne StarsBellerive Oval, Hobart10:00 AM
December 27, 2021, MondayBrisbane Heat vs Melbourne StarsThe Gabba, Brisbane3:35 PM
December 30, 2021, ThursdayPerth Scorchers vs Melbourne StarsOptus Stadium, Perth1:45 PM
January 2, 2022, SundayMelbourne Stars vs Perth Scorchers Junction Oval, Melbourne10:00 AM
January 3, 2022, MondayMelbourne Stars vs Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Cricket Ground1:45 PM
January 7, 2022, FridayAdelaide Strikers vs Melbourne StarsAdelaide Oval1:45 PM
January 10, 2022, MondayMelbourne Stars vs Adelaide StrikersMelbourne Cricket Ground8:40 AM
January 13, 2022, ThursdayMelbourne Renegades vs Melbourne StarsDocklands Stadium, Melbourne2:00 PM
January 16, 2022, SundayMelbourne Stars vs Brisbane HeatMelbourne Cricket Ground2:10 PM
January 19, 2022, WednesdayMelbourne Stars vs Hobart HurricanesMelbourne Cricket Ground2:20 PM

The Numbers That Matter

Batting Stats

Marcus Stoinis has been a prolific run-scorer for the club since joining them in 2013-14 and leads the run-scoring charts. He has recorded 2,171 runs at an average of 37.43 and a strike rate of 131.17. Glenn Maxwell is just 30 runs behind him in this regard, scoring 2,141 runs at an average of 32.93 and a strike rate of 149.19. 

Bowling stats

Adam Zampa, who joined the franchise in 2015-16, has already become their leading wicket-taker. He has 73 wickets to his credit in 60 fixtures. He achieved these numbers at an average of 21.78 and an economy of 7.2. Among the current crop, Stoinis and Maxwell are the second and third highest wicket-taker for the club, with 36 and 34 scalps, respectively. 

Team Stats

The Stars managed to breach the 200-mark in this competition only five times, and their highest team total is 219 against the Sixers, which came last season. They also inflicted the lowest-ever total in the tournament history when they castled city rivals Renegades for just 57 runs in 2015. They restricted a team for less than 80 runs in a BBL game on 4 occasions, more than any other team in the tournament. 

Melbourne Stars: Rivalries

OpponentMatch PlayedWonLostWin Percentage (%)
Sydney Sixers1771038.23%
Melbourne Renegades2014670%
Perth Scorchers188947.05%

Sydney Sixers

Sixers have had the upper hand against the Stars in the tournament, having won 10 of the 17 fixtures against them. But they hurt them the most in 2020 when they won a rain-marred final. Sixers had put up 116 runs in 12 overs batting first, and Stars could manage just 97. They will be keen on getting their revenge this time. 

Melbourne Renegades

Although the men in green have dominated the Melbourne Derby, those in red will have a wider smile as they defeated Stars in the only finale they played, in 2019. Keeping that one decisive game aside, the Stars have won 14 games on 20 occasions, whilst the Renegades have 6 wins to their credit. 

Perth Scorchers

The club has plenty of old dues to settle against Perth Scorchers, against whom they played the highest number of knockout games in the tournament. They met each other in the semifinals of the tournament on five occasions, and the Stars won the game only once, in 2015/16. 

The road ahead for Melbourne Stars

They have the incredible all-round experience of Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell, and they’ll be heavily reliant on this pair once again to get big results. It would come as no surprise if this side manages to enter the semifinal stages once again, but the road beyond that will be a tough nut to crack. The addition of Andre Russell in the line-up has already provided some positive outcomes for the team, and if they do get to the final four stages, his experience could come in handy to help the Stars reach a land they never have before.