Monday, October 18, 2021
Home Fantasy Cricket BLR vs CHN, Indian T20 League 2021 - Fantasy Preview and Top...

BLR vs CHN, Indian T20 League 2021 – Fantasy Preview and Top Picks 

Match: Team Bangalore vs Team Chennai, (BLR vs CHN, 2021)

Date: September 24, 2021 – 7:30 PM IST

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE

Where and what time to watch the match live in India 

For those in India, you can watch the match no. 35 between Bangalore and Chennai live on Star Sports 1 and 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and Hindi HD, Star Sports Select 1 and Select 1 HD at 7:30 PM IST. You can also catch all the live action on the online streaming platform, Disney+Hotstar. 

BLR vs CHN – What to expect: 

The match no. 35 of the Indian T20 League 2021 will witness Team Bangalore taking on Team Chennai at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Friday, September 24. 

Chennai has been outstanding in this season, sitting second on the points table with 12 points, having won six out of eight matches. They claimed a spectacular victory over the defending champions Mumbai in their last game. Being half a side down inside powerplay batting first, Chennai made a terrific comeback to beat Mumbai by 20 runs. 

Team Bangalore, on the other hand, are placed third on the table with 10 points from eight matches, courtesy of five victories. Bangalore are coming off a nine-wicket thrashing at the hands of Kolkata. Batting first, they were bundled out for 92, which Kolkata chased down with ease in 10 overs. The previous meeting between Bangalore and Chennai in the first phase of the season saw the yellove army come triumphant by 20 runs, with both the teams scoring 200+. 

Pitch Report of BLR vs CHN 

The Sharjah Cricket Stadium in the UAE can be a graveyard for bowlers with short boundaries and flat pitch. The average first innings total in 56 domestic T20s at the venue reads 158. In the last Indian T20 League season, Sharjah had an average first innings score of 177, with five times the team batting first crossing 190+. The highest score by a team batting first here was 228/5 by Delhi while the lowest total was 82/10 by Islamabad United. The weather is expected to be typical, with temperature hovering between 38 to 41.

Bangalore – Expected XI and Team News 

Team Bangalore suffered a humiliating loss in the last game and it’ll be interesting to see if they go in with the same side. Shahbaz Ahmed in place of Sachin Baby and Tim David ahead of Kyle Jamieson are the changes they could think about. 

Probable XI – Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, S Bharat (wk), Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers, Sachin Baby/Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal 

Chennai – Expected XI and Team News 

MS Dhoni’s team Chennai has always been a settled unit where you don’t expect too many changes. Ambati Rayudu, who had retired hurt after copping a bouncer in the last game, will be available for the match. All-rounder Sam Curran was unavailable for the first game due to the late arrival in the UAE but is likely to replace Josh Hazlewood in this game. 

Probable XI – Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain/wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sam Curran, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Head to head record of BLR vs CHN 

Team Chennai has dominated the rivalry against Team Bangalore in the overall history. They’ve faced each other on 28 occasions, out of which, Chennai has won 18 while Bangalore has claimed 9. In the last 10 clashes, Chennai have been victorious on 8 occasions. 

Team Chennai – 18 

Team Bangalore – 9 

No Result – 1 

BLR vs CHN: Five players to watch out for in the match no. 35 of the Indian T20 League 2021 

Here we take a look at the key players you must pick in your MPL fantasy XI: 

Faf du Plessis: Batter, Chennai (Credit – 9.5) 

The South African batter has been one of the most consistent T20 players in the world, having scored over 6500 runs at an average of 31 and strike rate of 129. Faf du Plessis has been terrific for Chennai at the top of the order. He is their top run-scorer of the 2021 season with 320 runs in eight innings at an average of 53 and strike rate of 143, including four fifties. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad: Batter, Chennai (Credit – 8.5) 

Ruturaj Gaikwad is one of the most promising young batters in Indian cricket. Gaikwad has produced five ‘player of the match’ performances in his 14-match career in the league. He has scored 284 runs in this season averaging 41 at a strike rate of 135, including three fifties. He’s coming fresh off a 88* off 58 against Mumbai in the last game. 

AB de Villiers: Batter, Bangalore (Credit – 10) 

This South African maestro needs no introduction. AB de Villiers has an astonishing record in the T20 format, having scored 9318 runs in 333 T20s at an average of 38 while striking at over 150. The dynamic batter has been a pillar for Bangalore in the league’s history and has done well this season too. De Villiers has 207 runs to his name in seven innings at an average of 41 and strike rate of 163. 

Glenn Maxwell: Batter, Bangalore (Credit – 9.5) 

Glenn Maxwell is one of the most polarizing figures in T20 cricket. He has 6907 runs in 314 matches at an of 27 and strike rate of 152. After years of struggle in the Indian T20 League, he has done an excellent job for Bangalore in this season. Maxwell has scored 233 runs in seven innings, averaging 33 at a strike rate of 136, including two half centuries. 

Ravindra Jadeja: All-rounder, Chennai (Credit – 9.5) 

Indian all-rounder has shown immense improvement with the bat in the last couple of years. Jadeja offers great value with his three-way skillset. He has scored 157 runs this season at an average of 78 and strike rate of 138. He has also picked 6 scalps with his left arm orthodox spin at an economy of under 7. With the Bangalore side being right hand batter heavy, Jadeja will have a role to play. 

MPL Fantasy XI 

Note: The players recommended here need not be a part of the Playing 11 on game day. Users are advised to do their own research also and follow official sources and create their teams.

Also Read: These Players Have Captained CSK Over the Years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Download the MPL App