Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Home Fantasy Football Chennaiyin FC vs Bengaluru FC: History and head-to-head of the Kaveri derby

Chennaiyin FC vs Bengaluru FC: History and head-to-head of the Kaveri derby

Chennaiyin FC is one of the oldest names that has been running tough in the fabric of ISL ever since the tournament’s inception while Bengaluru FC was a late arrival. The Chennaiyin FC vs Bengaluru FC fixture, which is also known as the Kaberi Derby, is one of the most awaited Indian Super League fixtures every season.

Bengaluru emerged as the champions in their very first attempt while Chennaiyin FC had sunk FC Goa in the second season of the tournament with two late goals to bag their opening championship.

Chennaiyin vs Bengaluru FC Head-to-Head ISL stats

Chennaiyin FC9342
Bengaluru FC9432

Former ISL winners Chennaiyin FC had gifted the tournament its first golden boot winner in ISL top scorer Elano Blumer. The Brazilian striker had set Indian Super League ablaze with a fiery brand of football and a boatload of goals. Bengaluru FC was at their scintillating best under the chaperonage of Carles Cuadrat.

In the famous rivalry between Bengaluru and Chennai, BFC has managed to win the contest four times while Chennaiyin FC has bagged three victories. There have been two draws in between.

While Chennaiyin FC took one season to get their hands on the ISL title, Bengaluru FC struck gold on their very first attempt with the fiery brand of football that they are known for. Carles Cuadrat led the Kaberi derby to new heights while Chennaiyin FC Bengaluru saw a surge in viewership with increasing popularity after Bengaluru emerged as the champions in 2018.

Chennai vs Bengaluru rivalry started in 2017 when the first match between the two ended up with Chennai walking away with the bragging rights. Chennai got ahead in the game thanks to the opener from Jeje Lapekhlua. Bengaluru had fought back through Sunil Chhetri on the 85th minute before Chennai bagged the winning goal in the 88th minute as Dhanpal Ganesh sank Bengaluru with a late strike.

The first man to be red-carded in the Bengaluru vs Chennai rivalry was Henrique Sereno. The match saw tempers flaring as Bengaluru hammered the mighty Chennai with an emphatic victory. The highest-scoring match between the two teams was played in 2018 where both the teams played out a five-goal thriller.

Bengaluru FC vs Chennaiyin FC: Results

January 17, 2017BFC vs CCFCISL1-2
February 6, 2018BFC vs CCFCISL3-1
March 17, 2018BFC vs CCFCISL2-3
September 30, 2018BFC vs CCFCISL1-0
February 2, 2019BFC vs CCFCISL1-2
November 10, 2019BFC vs CCFCISL3-0
February 9, 2020BFC vs CCFCISL 0-0
December 4, 2020BFC vs CCFCISL 1-0
February 5, 2021BFC vs CCFCISL0-0

Chennaiyin FC vs Bengaluru FC: Top Scorer

Chennai has gifted the tournament some of its finest talents in the form of Elano Blumer, Marco Materazzi, Gregory Nelson, Raphael Augusto and Henrique Sereno even though Sereno was introduced by ATK.

Bengaluru has ridden on the former heroics of Miku, Erik Paartalu, Dimas Delgado, Juanan and John Johnson to clinch the title. Even though recent times have seen the team fall from grace, yet the team believes in gifting a fiery brand of football.

Sunil Chhetri, Bengaluru FC, 6 goals

Sunil Chhetri is one of the most prolific strikers in the fabric of Indian football as he has been the best marksman in their chequered history. Sunil Chhetri has also been the man in charge of the goals in the Kaberi derby. He has bagged five goals so far and is followed by Miku Fedor with 3.

Mailson, Chennaiyin City FC, 2 goals

Mailson has been one of the most clinical marksmen to have featured in this rivalry with 2 fiery strikes. He was known for his defensive instincts in his own box and his eye for goals has always helped him to find the back of the net for the most number of times in Chennai colours. He has been backed by the likes of Jeje Lalpekhlua who has managed to flip in two goals each in the history of the rivalry.

When will Chennaiyin FC face Bengaluru FC next? 

Chennaiyin FC will be facing the mighty Bengaluru FC next on December 30, 2021, at Tilak Maidan for their upcoming contest to extend the legacy of the contest. Both the teams will be desperate to bag a victory in the game that would accentuate their supremacy in the contest.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular