Bangalore – The Crowd Pullers

Team Introduction

The Bangalore team is one of the 10 franchise cricket teams that play in the Indian T20 Premier League. Led by Captain Faf Du Plessis, Bangalore has been a competitive side with notable players that finished runners-up thrice between 2009 and 2016, which was followed by a slump. However, since 2020, the team has been continuously reaching the playoffs except for the last season.

Team Bangalore holds the records of both the lowest and highest totals in the T20 league and is also tagged as the “underachiever”, due to its lack of success. The team still awaits its first T20 Premier League title.

Team Origin: Founded in 2008 and based in Bangalore, Karnataka

Team Owners: United Spirits Limited

Team’s Last Year Glimpse: In 2023, Bangalore finished sixth in the points table with seven wins and as many losses in seven matches.

Where the team currently stands: Bangalore have started the 2024 season with a loss over Chennai.

Team’s ex-captains: Rahul Dravid (2008), Kevin Pietersen (2009), Anil Kumble (2010), Daniel Vettori (2011), Shane Watson (2017), Virat Kohli (2021), Faf du Plessis (Present)

Current Coaches: Andy Flower (Head Coach), Adam Griffith (Bowling Coach), Sridharan Sriram (Batting and Spin Bowling Coach), Malolan Rangarajan (Fielding Coach).

Home Ground: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Bangalore Team Players

Top Auctioned Players of 2024

Alzarri Joseph – Rs. 11.50 crore

Yash Dayal – Rs. 5 crore

Lockie Ferguson – Rs. 2 crore

Tom Curran – Rs. 1.5 crore

Swapnil Singh – Rs. 20 lakh

Bangalore’s full List of Players

Faf du Plessis (c), Glenn Maxwell, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Mayank Dagar, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Cameron Green, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Lockie Ferguson, Swapnil Singh, Saurav Chauhan. 

T20 League Schedule 2024 for Bangalore Team

Bangalore vs Chennai – March 22 – Chennai – 7:30 PM IST

Bangalore vs Punjab – March 25 – Bengaluru – 7:30 PM IST

Bangalore vs Kolkata – March 29 – Bengaluru – 7:30 PM IST

Bangalore vs Lucknow – April 2 – Bengaluru – 7:30 PM IST

Bangalore vs Rajasthan – April 6 – Jaipur – 7:30 PM IST

Things to know & Facts about the Bangalore team

  • The team never won the T20 title but made it to the finals thrice.
  • The team has had the highest and lowest team total in T20 Premier league history, with 263/5 and 49, respectively.
  • With 15 centuries, the team has a record of the most centuries scored by any team.
  • In 2016, Virat Kohli broke all records with 973 runs, which were the most runs in any season.
  • In 2013, Chris Gayle created history by scoring the fastest century in the history of the Indian T20 Premier League.

Past Indian T20 League Performance of the Bangalore Team




Finished 7th




Finished third as Semi-finalists




Finished 5th and failed to reach play-offs


Finished 5th and failed to reach play-offs


Finished 7th and failed to reach play-offs


Finished 3rd




Finished 8th


Finished 6th


Finished 8th


Finished 4th


Finished 3rd


Finished 4th


Finished 6th

How Bangalore team Stats can help you on MPL?

MPL offers the latest news and team stats to help you build your fantasy team and win matches. You can easily stay updated with all the information you need to create your fantasy team on MPL. Play multiple fantasy cricket cash games with your team while staying updated with the match stats on the app. Playing fantasy cricket on the MPL app puts you in a win-win situation where you can enjoy your favorite matches while earning cash prizes at the end of the matches.

Who is the captain of the Bangalore team?

Faf du Plessis is the present captain of the team. 

Which is the home ground of the team?

The home ground of the team is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

What is the winning count of the team at the home ground?

The team has 40 wins out of 85 matches on the home ground.

How many times did the team win the T20 Premier League finals?

The team has never won the Indian T20 Premier League.

Who has won the Purple Cap in the team?

Harshal Patel won the purple cap for RCB in 2021.

Who has won the Orange Cap in the team?

Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle have won the Orange Cap from this team.

IPL 2024: Bangalore players to watch out for

Faf du Plessis: The South African batsman was the highest scorer for Bangalore in IPL 2023, amassing 730 runs at an average of 56.15 and a strike rate of 153.68. His ability to build big scores makes him a crucial asset for the team.

Virat Kohli: Opening the innings, Kohli scored 639 runs in IPL 2023 at an average of 53.25, with a highest score of 101 not out and a strike rate of 139.82. His role in anchoring innings and setting up big scores or chasing targets is vital for Bangalore’s success.

Glenn Maxwell: Australian all-rounder Maxwell played a significant role for with his all-round performances last year. He scored 400 runs at an average of 33.33 and a strike rate of 183.48 in 2023.

Mohammad Siraj: The star Indian seamer was instrumental for Bangalore in 2023, picking up 14 wickets at an average of 16.64. His ability to take crucial wickets adds depth to Bangalore’s bowling attack.

Cameron Green: Making his debut in 2023 with Mumbai, Green showcased his talent with both bat and ball, scoring 452 runs and taking six wickets. Traded to Bangalore before IPL 2024, his all-round abilities make him a player to watch out for in the upcoming season.








Indian T20 Premier League Teams