Chennai Team – The Dad’s Army

MS Dhoni

Team Chennai Introduction

Chennai is one of the most prominent Indian T20 Premier League teams and has been crowned champions three times – in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. Led by the enigmatic MS Dhoni, Chennai is a force every season, and it is going to be no different in 2023. It is the most successful team in the history of the tournament in terms of win percentage – 59.5. 

The four-time title champions hold the record for most appearances in the T20 league playoffs (10) and has qualified for the final nine times. The franchise was banned from the Indian T20 league for two years in 2016 and 2017 but came back in style in 2018 to lift the trophy for the third time. Often known as Dad’s Army, due to the average age in the team being over 30, the southern giants consistently punch above their weight in the competition. The team did not have a good time in 2020 and will be itching to get back to winning ways in the 2023 edition.

Chennai Team Origin: Founded in 2008, the Chennai team plays all of its home games at MA Chidambaram Stadium, also known as the Chepauk Stadium.

Team Owners: The Chennai team is owned by India Cements, whose parent company is India Cements.

Team’s Last Year Glimpse: Chennai had an underwhelming season in 2022, where they finished seventh. The side could win only four of their 10 league games, losing 10 matches to finish archrivals Mumbai.

Where the team currently stands: Chennai has started their 2023 campaign with a loss against Gujarat.

Team’s ex-captains, Current Coaches, Home Ground: MS Dhoni has led the franchise in almost all the matches since the inception of the league. He missed a few games, and in his absence, Suresh Raina led Chennai. Chennai had decided to hand over the captaincy to Ravindra Jadeja in 2022, but Dhoni had to intervene when things went south

The former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming is currently the head coach of Chennai. Michael Hussey is the batting coach, while former India speedster Dwayne Bravo is Chennai’s bowling coach. Chennai plays all of its home games at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

List of all Chennai players in the 2023 edition:

MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Mahesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Matheesha Pathirana, Subhranshu Senapati, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Varma

Top Auctioned Players of 2023:

  • Ben Stokes – INR 16.25 crore
  • Kyle Jamieson – INR 1 crore
  • Nishant Sindhu – INR 60 lakh
  • Ajinkya Rahane- INR 50 lakh
  • Bhagath Varma – INR 20 lakh
  • Shaik Rasheed – INR 20 lakh

Indian T20 League Schedule 2023 for Chennai Team

Chennai will play most of its games this season in Mumbai (5), followed by Delhi (4), Bengaluru (3), and Kolkata (2). 

March 31, 2023 – Gujarat vs Chennai, 7:30 PM IST, Ahmedabad

Match 2: April 3, 2023 – Chennai vs Lucknow, Chennai

Match 3: April 8, 2023 – Mumbai vs Chennai, Mumbai

Match 4: April 12, 2023 – Chennai vs Rajasthan, Chennai

Match 5: April 17, 2023: Royal vs Chennai, Bengaluru

Match 6: April 21, 2023: Chennai vs Sunrisers, Chennai

Match 7: April 23, 2023: Kolkata vs Chennai, Kolkata

Match 8: April 27, 2023 – Rajasthan vs Chennai, 7:30 PM IST, Jaipur

Match 9: April 30, 2023 – Chennai vs Punjab, Chennai

Match 10: May 4, 2023 – Lucknow vs Chennai, Lucknow

Match 11: May 6, 2023 – Chennai vs Mumbai, Chennai

Match 12: May 10, 2023: Chennai vs Delhi, Chennai

Match 13: May 14, 2023: Chennai vs Kolkata, Chennai

Match 14: May 20, 2023: Delhi vs Chennai, Delhi

Visit our Blog section to find more details about the teams, players, news, and match predictions. In addition, you can also read about various tips and tricks that will help you in creating fantasy cricket teams on MPL.

Things to Know & Facts about the Chennai team

Chennai is one of the most popular franchises in the Indian T20 league and has forged a good fan base over the years. Its fans throng the stadiums like no other and are very vocal in support of its team. Here are some more facts about the Men in Yellow. 

  1. Chennai is the most successful team in the history of the Indian T20 league in terms of winning percentage. With a win% of 59.5, they are slightly ahead of Mumbai (59.1).
  2. MS Dhoni has led Chennai in 174 of the 179 matches they have played. This is comfortably the most number of matches any player has led a single side in the tournament.
  3. MS Dhoni holds the record for the most number of matches played by any player in the tournament. He has played 204 games in the league.
  4. No other team has entered the tournament’s playoffs (10) and finals (8) than Chennai. 
  5. With 5368 runs in 193 matches, Suresh Raina is the leading run-scorer for Chennai in the competition. 

Past Performance of Chennai in T20 Premier League

Chennai is one of the most popular teams in the tournament and has been a front-runner in the competition right from Season 1. They have qualified for the playoffs 10 times and reached the final a record eight times. Here we have a look at the past performances of the team in the league.

2014Lost to Punjab in Qualifier 2
2020Finished 7th and failed to qualify for the playoffs
2022Finished 9th and failed to qualify for playoffs

How Team Stats can help you on MPL? 

MPL is your one-stop destination for all things related to fantasy cricket. Using the team statistics will help you build your fantasy teams for the Indian fantasy T20 premier league. MPL provides you with all the latest updates regarding team news, injury updates, weather conditions that will help you build your fantasy dream team. Get going by downloading the MPL fantasy cricket app and start building your fantasy T20 team. We have a new points system in place as well with bonus points for strike rates, economy rates and catches.

Who is the captain of the Chennai team?

MS Dhoni currently leads the Chennai team. He has led the side in every season of the Indian T20 Premier League they have been a part of. 

Which is the home ground of Chennai?

The home ground of Chennai is the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

What is the winning count of Chennai at the home ground?

Chennai has won 40 of its 56 matches played at the home ground. That is a win percentage of 71.4%.

How many times did Chennai win the T20 Premier League finals?

Chennai has won the T20 Premier League finals on three occasions – 2010, 2011 and 2018.

Who has won the Purple Cap in Chennai?

Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap for Chennai twice in 2013 (32 wickets) and 2015 (26 wickets). Mohit Sharma won the Purple Cap while playing for Chennai in 2014 (23 wickets). Imran Tahir, with 26 wickets in 2019, was the Purple Cap winner for Chennai in 2019.

Who has won the Orange Cap in Chennai?

Matthew Hayden scored 572 runs in the second season of the Indian T20 league and was the Orange Cap holder. Michael Hussey won the Orange Cap for the franchise in 2013. The latest Chennai player to win the orange cap is Ruturaj Gaikwad in 2021.

Indian T20 Premier League Teams