Mumbai Team – The Most Successful franchise

Team Mumbai Introduction

The most balanced team in the Indian T20 Premier League, according to many experts, Mumbai holds the record for most titles in the history of the tournament. Led by Rohit ‘Hitman’ Sharma, they have held the prestigious Indian T20 League trophy five times – 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

With the team being forced to revamp the side following the mega-auction in 2022, Mumbai has seen mainstays like Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock and others leaving the franchise.

However, in Suryakumar Yadav, Rohit Sharma, and the upcoming Ishan Kishan, the team still has some hard hitters. Jasprit Bumrah, who leads the bowling attack, is arguably the best bowler in the format. Apart from that, Mumbai have invested in players like Tim David, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Verma and more, who are part of the team rebuild.

Mumbai has time and again backed its youngsters, a decision that has borne fruit to date. Whether or not Mumbai can achieve a treble remains to be seen. For now, the team has all the ammunition.

Mumbai Team Origin: The Mumbai team was founded in 2008. It plays all of its home games at the Wankhede Stadium. 

Team Owners: The Mumbai team is owned by Reliance Industries Ltd (RIL). 

Team’s Last Year Glimpse: Mumbai had one of their worst seasons in the 2023 edition, where they finished last (tenth). They could only win four of their 14 league matches.

Where the team currently stands: Mumbai started with a loss against Bangalore in the opening game of Indian T20 League 2023 at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Team’s ex-captains, Current Coaches, Home Ground: Mumbai, in its initial days, trialled with plenty of captains. Sachin Tendulkar led Mumbai in 51 games from 2008 to 2011. Harbhajan Singh also led the side in 20 matches, while Ricky Ponting (6), Kieron Pollard (5), Shaun Pollock (4), Dwayne Bravo (1) have all been captains of Mumbai at some point. Currently, Rohit Sharma is Mumbai’s captain. He has led the team since 2013, and all of Mumbai’s title wins have come under Rohit.

Mark Boucher is the head coach of the team, with former player Kieron Pollard taking up the role of the batting coach. Shane Bond is the bowling coach and James Pamment is the fielding coach. Former India head coach John Wright continues to be Mumbai’s head of Talent Scouting. 

Mumbai had the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai as its home ground for the first two seasons. In 2011, the team played all of its home matches at Brabourne Stadium. Team Mumbai now plays all of its home games at Wankhede Stadium.

Full List of Mumbai players for 2023 edition:

Rohit Sharma (C), Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Jofra Archer, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Cameron Green, Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Raghav Goyal.

Top Auctioned Players of 2023: 

  • Cameron Green: INR 17.50 crore
  • Jhye Richardson: INR 1.5 crore
  • Piyush Chawla: INR 50 lakhs
  • Duan Jansen: INR 20 lakh
  • Nehal Wadhera: INR 20 lakh           
  • Shams Mulani: INR 20 lakh
  • Raghav Goyal: INR 20 lakh

Indian T20 League Schedule 2023 for Mumbai Team

Mumbai will play all their home matches at the Wankhede Stadium. 

April 2, 2023 – Bangalore vs Mumbai, Bengaluru (7:30 PM IST)

April 8, 2023 – Mumbai vs Chennai, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)

April 11, 2023 – Delhi vs Mumbai, Delhi (7:30 PM IST)

April 16, 2023 – Mumbai vs Kolkata, Mumbai (3:30 PM IST)

April 18, 2023 – Sunrisers v Mumbai, Hyderabad (7:30 PM IST)

April 22, 2023 – Mumbai vs Punjab, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)

April 25, 2023 – Gujarat vs Mumbai, Ahmedabad (7:30PM IST)

April 30, 2023 – Mumbai vs Rajasthan, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)

May 3, 2023 – Punjab vs Mumbai, Mohali (7:30 PM IST)

May 6, 2023 – Chennai vs Mumbai, Chennai (3:30 PM IST)

May 9, 2023 – Mumbai vs Bangalore, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)

May 12, 2023 – Mumbai vs Gujarat, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)

May 16, 2023 – Lucknow vs Mumbai, Lucknow (7:30 PM IST)

May 21, 2023 – Mumbai vs Hyderabad, Mumbai (3:30 PM IST)

Things to Know & Facts about the Mumbai team

There is no doubt that Mumbai is one of the best teams that has ever turned out in the prestigious Indian T20 league. They did not have the best to start initially in their tournament journey but have had incredible success over the last few years. Here are some interesting facts about the Mumbai team.

  1. Mumbai has the most wins in the Indian T20 Premier League history – 120 wins in 2013 matches, a win percentage of 59.1.
  2. Rohit Sharma has been the captain each time Mumbai has won the title.
  3. Mumbai has won five T20 league titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. It was also runner-up in 2010.
  4. Mumbai has a 77.7% win percentage against Kolkata. Among the active teams, this is the highest win percentage of any team against a particular opponent. 
  5. Rohit Sharma is the leading run-scorer for Mumbai in the T20 league with 4060 runs, while Lasith Malinga has picked up the most wickets for the franchise (170). 

Past Performance of Mumbai in T20 Premier League

Mumbai is the most successful team in the Indian T20 league and has won the title five times. However, it has not always been a rosy road for the team. They have had a few iffy seasons but has made sure that whenever it qualifies for the final, it comes up as winners more often than not. Here is how the IPL giants have fared in the T20 league over the years.

2008Finished fifth on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2009Finished seventh on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2011Lost to Bangalore in Qualifier 2
2012Lost to Chennai in Eliminator 
2014Lost to Chennai in Eliminator 
2016Finished fifth on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2018Finished fifth on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2021Finished 5th and failed to qualify for playoffs
2022Finished 10th and failed to qualify for playoffs

How can Team Stats help you on MPL? 

Playing fantasy cricket on MPL is a breeze. Be the owner of a team laden with superstars and win prizes aplenty. The statistics help you in deciding which players to pick in your fantasy team on the given day. In our dedicated Blog section, we also provide you with important tips and tricks on how to build your fantasy teams, match predictions, injury updates, and team news. Download MPL App and start playing fantasy cricket today. 

Who is the captain of the Mumbai team?

Rohit Sharma is currently the Mumbai team captain and has led in 116 matches over eight years. 

Which is the home ground of Mumbai?

Wankhede Stadium is the home ground for the Mumbai team.

What is the winning count of Mumbai at the home ground?

The Mumbai team has played 67 games at Wankhede Stadium, out of which it has won 42 matches – a win percentage of 62.6% 

How many times did Mumbai win the T20 Premier League finals?

Mumbai has won the T20 Premier League a record five times. 

Who has won the Purple Cap in Mumbai?

Lasith Malinga in 2009 is the only bowler to date to have won the Purple Cap for Mumbai. He picked up 28 wickets in the campaign that season.

Who has won the Orange Cap in Mumbai?

Sachin Tendulkar won the Orange Cap for Mumbai in 2010. No other player has won the Orange Cap for the franchise since.

Indian T20 Premier League Teams