Rajasthan – The Perpetual Underdogs!

Sanju Samson

Team Introduction

The Rajasthan team was the first team to have won the inaugural season of the T20 Premier League in 2008. Under the captaincy of Rahul Dravid, it was also the runners-up in the 2013 Champions League T20. In 2016 and 2017, the team was suspended from the Twenty20 tournaments due to some controversies. The Rajasthan team has had its share of ups and downs ever since but is known to possess talented players. 

Team Origin: Founded in 2008 and based in Jaipur, Rajasthan

Team Owners: Manoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch, Amisha Hathiramani

Team’s Last Year Glimpse: In 2023, the team narrowly missed out on the playoffs spot due to a poorer net run rate as compared to other teams. They finished fifth in the points table.

Where the team currently stands: Rajasthan will begin their 2024 campaign against Lucknow on March 24.

Team’s ex-captains: Shane Warne, Rahul Dravid, Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, Steve Smith, Sanju Samson (Current Captain)

Team Director: Kumar Sangakkara

Home Ground: Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Team Players

Top Auctioned Players of 2024

Rovman Powell – Rs. 7.4 crore

Shubham Dubey – Rs. 5.80 crore

Nandre Burger – Rs. 50 lakh

Tom Kohler-Cadmore Rs. 40 lakh

Abid Mushtaq – Rs. 20 lakh

List of all players in the team

Sanju Samson (c), Jos Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Sen, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Sharma, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Avesh Khan, Rovman Powell, Shubham Dubey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Abid Mushtaq, Nandre Burger. 

T20 League Schedule 2024 for Rajasthan Team

Rajasthan vs Lucknow: March 24, 3:30 PM IST in Jaipur

Rajasthan vs Lucknow: March 28, 7:30 PM IST in Jaipur

Rajasthan vs Lucknow: April 1, 7:30 PM IST in Mumbai

Rajasthan vs Bengaluru: April 6, 7:30 PM IST in Jaipur

Looking for more information on the matches, predictions, teams, etc.? You’ll find everything on our blog.

Things to know & Facts about the Rajasthan team

  • Rajasthan was the first team to have won the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 Premier League.
  • The team was one of the two teams that were suspended from the tournament in 2016 and 2017.
  • Rajasthan has had the most players that made a hat-trick; Ajit Chandila, Shane Watson, Pravin Tambe, Shreyas Gopal.
  • The team was a part of the first-ever tied match in the history of the T20 tournament against KKR and won the match through the one-over eliminator.
  • Ajinkya Rahane from the Rajasthan team set a record for scoring 1100 runs at an average of 39.29 at the home ground. This record is the highest in comparison to any Rajasthan batsman at any venue in the Twenty20 tournament.
  • Rajasthan Royals were the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy.

Past Indian T20 League Performance of the Rajasthan Team




Champions of the tournament


Finished 6th


Finished 7th


Finished 6th


Finished 7th


Finished 3rd in playoffs


Finished 5th


Finished 4th in playoffs


Team was suspended


Team was suspended


Finished 4th in playoffs


Finished 7th


Finished 8th


Finished 7th


Finished 2nd in playoffs


Finished 5th


How Rajasthan team Stats can help you on MPL?

On MPL, you can access the latest news, statistics, and information on your favorite team to create your own fantasy team. Stay updated with the latest information to win fantasy cricket matches and earn real cash prizes. You can create a strong team with the team stats provided by MPL and play online fantasy cricket. Now watching your favorite matches while playing fantasy cricket is easy with the MPL app. It’s a pure win-win situation.

Who is the captain of the Rajasthan team?

The current captain of the Rajasthan team is Sanju Samson.

Which is the home ground of the team?

The home ground of the team is the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

How many times did the team win the T20 Premier League finals?

The Rajasthan team won the Indian T20 Premier League finals only once in the inaugural edition in 2008.

Who has won the Purple Cap in the team?

Sohail Tanvir won the Purple Cap for the Rajasthan team in 2008. In 2022, Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap for Rajasthan.

Who has won the Orange Cap in the team?

No player from the Rajasthan team has won the Orange Cap yet.

IPL 2024: Five players to watch out for from Team Rajasthan

Yuzvendra Chahal: The leg-break bowler has been consistently impressive for Rajasthan since joining in 2022, winning the Purple Cap in his debut season. In 2023, he emerged as the highest wicket-taker for Rajasthan, with 21 wickets in 14 matches at an economy of 8.17. 

Sanju Samson: Leading Rajasthan since 2021, Samson remains a vital figure in the team’s lineup. Despite a slightly lower performance in 2023, he aims to showcase consistency throughout the season as the team’s captain.

Jos Buttler: With a track record of five centuries in the tournament, Buttler’s explosive batting propelled Rajasthan to the final in 2022. As the second-highest scorer for Rajasthan in the previous season, the team will be reliant on him for runs at the top of the order. 

Yashasvi Jaiswal: The young top-order batter emerged as the highest scorer for Rajasthan in 2023, amassing 625 runs with an impressive strike rate of 163.6. 

Ravichandran Ashwin: A seasoned campaigner, Ashwin’s experience adds depth to Rajasthan’s bowling attack. His ability to thrive in pressure situations makes him a dangerous bowler and a valuable asset for the 2008 champions.

ian T20 Premier League Teams