Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket IPL Orange Cap 2021: List of winners in each season

IPL Orange Cap 2021: List of winners in each season


The 14th season of the Indian Premier League was forced to be suspended because of the COVID 19 pandemic. However, even with a handful of matches played in the tournament, batsmen made merry and runs flowed. Every season, the batsmen who is the overall leading run scorer wins the IPL Orange Cap award. The cap is a coveted award and changes hands throughout the season till one batsman finally wins it at the end of the IPL.

Over the years the IPL orange cap has been won by a number of batsman such as Virat Kohli, Matthew Hayden Sachin Tendulkar and so on. David Warner has won the actual orange cap award most number of times (3) followed by Chris Gayle (2).

In IPL 2021, orange cap is so far held by Shikhar Dhawan of Delhi Capitals, who has so far scored 380 runs in 8 matches. With the IPL 2021 resuming in a month’s time it remains to be seen who would wear the orange cap at the conclusion of the tournament.

Here, we take a look at the winners of the IPL orange cap winners of the winner.

KL Rahul (KXIP) – 2020

In 2020, KL Rahul became only the fourth Indian to win the Orange Cap in the IPL. While his strike-rate was under scrutiny, the runs didn’t stop flowing from his bat. He scored 670 runs at an average of 55.83 but Kings XI Punjab failed to make it to the playoffs.

STATS: Runs: 670, Average: 55.83, Strike Rate: 129.34, 100s: 1, 50s: 5

David Warner (SRH) – 2019

David Warner bounced back with a bang after missing the 2018 season. He won his third Orange Cap in the 2019 season as he racked up 692 runs at an average of 69.20. He played just 12 games and out of those, he scored eight half-centuries and one hundred.

STATS: Runs: 692, Average: 69.2, Strike Rate: 143.86, 100s: 1, 50s: 8

Kane Williamson (SRH) – 2018

With David Warner banned, Kane Williamson stepped up as captain and also with the bat for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He led them into the final of the 2018 edition and also won the Orange Cap. The New Zealander mustered 735 runs at an average of 52.5 which included eight half-centuries.

STATS: Runs: 735, Average: 52.5, Strike Rate: 142.44, 50s: 8

David Warner (SRH) – 2017

David Warner continued his dream run in the IPL for the third season in a row and got a 500+ run season for the third time in a row. The Sunrisers Hyderabad captain racked up 641 runs at an average of 58.27.

STATS: Runs: 641, Average: 58.27, Strike Rate: 141.81, 100s: 1, 50s: 4

Virat Kohli (RCB) – 2016

Virat Kohli was batting on another level in 2016. He scored a mind-boggling 973 runs in a single season of the IPL which is by far the most. He averaged 81.08 and smashed four hundreds, the most in a single edition of the IPL. The RCB skipper also hit seven fifties. He carried his side into the final but fell agonisingly close in the title-clash.

STATS: Runs: 973, Average: 81.08, Strike Rate: 152.03, 100s: 4, 50s: 7

David Warner (SRH) – 2015

2015 started a dream run for David Warner in the IPL. The left-handed Australian opener won his first Orange Cap in the 2015 season as he aggregated 562 runs at an average of 43.23 and a strike-rate of 156.54. Moreover, he registered seven half-centuries in 14 games.

STATS: Runs: 562, Average: 43.23, Strike Rate: 156.54, 50s: 7

Robin Uthappa (KKR) – 2014

Robin Uthappa became only the second Indian player to win the Orange Cap in 2014. Moreover, he is the only player to have won the Orange Cap and finished on the title-winning side in the history of the IPL. Batting at the top of the order for Kolkata Knight Riders, Uthappa amassed 660 runs at an average of 44 and had a strike-rate of 137.78.

STATS: Runs: 660, Average: 44, Strike Rate: 137.78, 50s: 5

Michael Hussey (CSK) – 2013

Michael Hussey replicated Chris Gayle’s record run-tally in the 2013 season of the IPL. The veteran Australian batsman opened the batting for Chennai Super Kings and accumulated 733 runs at an average of 52.35. His excellent season helped CSK reach the final of the 2013 edition and he became the third Australian to win the Orange Cap in the IPL.

STATS: Runs: 733, Average: 52.35, Strike Rate: 129.5, 50s: 6

Chris Gayle (RCB) – 2012

Chris Gayle continued his magnificent run in the IPL for the second season in a row and in fact, bettered his 2011 records. In 2012, the West Indian opener smashed 733 runs at an average of 61.08 and a strike-rate of 160.74. Gayle became the first and only batsman so far to have won the Orange Cap in consecutive seasons.

STATS: Runs: 733, Average: 61.08, Strike Rate: 160.74, 100s: 1, 50s: 7

Chris Gayle (RCB) – 2011

The 2011 season of the IPL saw the arrival of Chris Gayle, the Universe Boss. After going unsold in the auction, he was roped in as a replacement player by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Gayle smashed 608 runs at an average of 67.55. Moreover, he had a whopping strike-rate of 183.13 as he drove RCB into their second final.

STATS: Runs: 608, Average: 67.55, Strike Rate: 183.13, 50s: 3, 100s: 2

Sachin Tendulkar (MI) – 2010

At 38 years of age, Sachin Tendulkar went on to own the 2010 edition of the IPL. The legendary batsman won the Orange Cap and helped his side shrug off a couple of indifferent seasons as he led Mumbai Indians to the final. He aggregated 618 runs at an average of 47.52 and also had a strike-rate of 132.61.

STATS: Runs: 618, Average: 47.53, Strike Rate: 132.61, 50s: 5

Matthew Hayden (CSK) – 2009

Matthew Hayden had already retired from all three formats by the time the 2009 season of the IPL came around. However, he smashed the bowlers all around as he racked up 572 at an average of 52.00 from 12 matches while playing for the Chennai Super Kings. The hard-hitting Australian left-handed opener had a strike-rate of 144.81.

STATS: Runs: 572, Average: 52, Strike-rate: 144.81, 50s: 5

Shaun Marsh (KXIP) – 2008

Shaun Marsh surprised a lot of people as he dominated the inaugural edition of the IPL. The left-hander had not even made his debut for Australia back then. He went on to win the Orange Cap as he accumulated 616 runs at an average of 68.44 from just 11 games in the 2008 season.

STATS: Runs: 616, Average: 68.44, Strike-rate: 139.68, 50s: 5, 100s: 1

Also Read: What is KXIP full form in IPL?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular