Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Top Blogs IPL Prize Money (2023): How it has evolved over the years

IPL Prize Money (2023): How it has evolved over the years

The IPL prize money 2023 for the winning team, Chennai Super Kings was INR 20 crore, while the runners-up, Gujarat Titans pocketed INR 13 crore. Mumbai Indians, who finished third, got INR 7 crore, while fourth-placed Lucknow Super Giants, walked away with INR 6.5 crore. The total prize money for the four teams was INR 46.5 crore.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) emerged victorious in a thrilling final at the Narendra Modi Stadium defeating Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets with a last-ball finish, thanks to the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method. The match ended in the early hours of Tuesday (May 30) and marked CSK’s fifth IPL title, making them only the second team, alongside Mumbai Indians (MI), to achieve this milestone.

In a nail-biting chase, with 10 runs required off the last two deliveries bowled by Mohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja showcased his batting prowess by hitting a six followed by a four, securing a memorable win for CSK. The final, originally scheduled for Sunday (May 28), was unfortunately affected by rain and subsequently postponed to Monday.

In addition to the thrilling contest, the IPL 2023 season also witnessed various awards for the winner, including valuable player of the IPL, significant records, and noteworthy statistics. All the award recipients were honoured with a trophy and total prize money, adding to the excitement and recognition of outstanding performances throughout the tournament.

IPL 2023 prize money for all season award winners:

Here is the table summarizing the IPL 2023 final results and award the winner with their respective prize money and how much they earned:

AwardWinnerPrize Money (₹)
WinnerChennai Super Kings (CSK)20 crore
Runner-upGujarat Titans (GT)12.5 crore
Third placeMumbai Indians (MI)7 crore
Fourth placeLucknow Super Giants (LSG)6.5 crore
Fair play awardDelhi Capitals (DC)Only trophy
Orange CapShubman Gill (GT)10 lakh
Purple CapMohammed Shami (GT)10 lakh
Emerging Player of the seasonYashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals)10 lakh
Most Valuable PlayerShubman Gill (GT)10 lakh
Most foursShubman Gill (GT)10 lakh
Game-changer of the seasonShubman Gill (Gujarat Titans)10 lakh
Electric Striker of the seasonGlenn Maxwell (Royal Challengers Bangalore)10 lakh
Catch of the seasonRashid Khan (GT)10 lakh
Longest six of the seasonFaf du Plessis (RCB, 115-metre six)10 lakh

How much has IPL prize money evolved over the years?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is recognized as one of the most prominent and expensive cricket leagues globally. Its inception took place in 2008 following India’s triumph in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007.

The value of the IPL has surged to approximately Rs 91,000 crores in 2023. According to The Hindu, this significant growth can be attributed to media rights agreements and the establishment of new partnerships.

2008 and 2009:

In the initial two seasons, the champions were awarded a prize of Rs 4.8 crore, whereas the runners-up received Rs 2.4 crore.


During this period, the prize money saw a significant increase, with the winners earning Rs 10 crore in 2010, and the runners-up receiving Rs 5 crore. This amount remained unchanged until the 2013 season.

2014 and 2015:

In 2014 and 2015, the winning teams were awarded Rs 15 crore, while the final winners of the match received a cash reward of Rs 10 crore.


The prize money for the champions was raised to Rs 20 crore in 2016, and the runners-up received Rs 11 crore. This amount remained constant until IPL 2019. However, the runners-up in 2018 and 2019 received Rs 12.5 crore, which was an increase compared to Rs 11 crore in 2016 and 2017.


The 2020 season witnessed a reduction in prize money due to the pandemic. The winners received Rs 10 crore, and the runners-up were awarded Rs 6.25 crore.


Despite the challenges posed by the second wave of coronavirus, the winning team of IPL 2021 still received Rs 20 crore, while the runners-up pocketed Rs 12.5 crore.


In IPL 2022, the prize money for the champions remained at Rs 20 crore, while the runners-up received Rs 13 crore.


IPL prize money 2023 winner

The winner of the IPL prize money of INR 20 crore was Chennai Suoer Kings after they won the final

What is the ICC World Cup 2023 prize money?

The team that emerges as the champion of the ICC World Cup 2023 will receive a staggering $4 million. The runners-up will also be awarded a substantial amount of $2 million. Furthermore, the two semi-finalist teams that do not advance to the final will not leave empty-handed, as they will each be granted a reward of $800,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular