Wednesday, April 24, 2024
Home News Lucknow and Ahmedabad rope in three players each ahead of IPL 2022...

Lucknow and Ahmedabad rope in three players each ahead of IPL 2022 mega auctions

The two new teams in the Indian Premier League – Lucknow and Ahmedabad – have roped in three players each ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction set to take place in February.

Shubman Gill, Rashid Khan and Hardik Pandya are all set to be a part of the Ahmedabad franchise for the upcoming IPL season. Gill was with Kolkata Knight Riders, while Rashid and Pandya played for Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians, respectively.

The Ahmedabad franchise has also finalised its coaching staff – former India fast bowler Ashish Nehra will be the head coach, while former South Africa batter Gary Kirsten will be the batting coach. Vikram Solanki, former England batter and current head coach of Surrey, will be the team director.

Lucknow, on the other hand, have signed KL Rahul, Ravi Bishnoi and Marcus Stoinis for IPL 2022. KL Rahul had informed his previous franchise, Punjab Kings, which he captained the last two seasons, that he wanted to be a part of a new team, and was subsequently released ahead of the auctions. Bishnoi, the leading wicket-taker at the 2020 U19 World Cup held in South Africa, played his first two seasons for the Kings. He took 12 wickets in 14 matches in his first season 12 wickets from nine matches last year. Australian all-rounder Stoinis, meanwhile, has previously played for the Delhi Capitals, Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Both the new teams were given the same purse – INR 90 crore – as the eight other teams. But unlike the other teams, which could retain four players, Lucknow and Ahmedabad can buy a maximum of three players, including one overseas player.

The remaining purse of all 10 franchises ahead of the auctions next month is as follows –

Punjab Kings – 72cr

Sunrisers Hyderabad – 68cr

Rajasthan Royals – 62cr

Lucknow – 60cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore – 57cr

Ahmedabad – 53cr

Chennai Super Kings – 48cr

Mumbai Indians – 48cr

Kolkata Knight Riders – 48cr

Delhi Capitals – 47.5cr

Also read: World Chess Championship – The History, Top Champions, and Interesting Facts

Umaima Saeed
A writer who primarily writes on cricket. As of 2021, she has covered cricket for more than a dozen publications.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular