Thursday, February 2, 2023
Home Fantasy Cricket Most Wickets in IPL: List of Top 10 wicket-takers in the Indian...

Most Wickets in IPL: List of Top 10 wicket-takers in the Indian Premier League

Over the years, we have seen several bowlers who went on to play international cricket after impressing in the Indian Premier League. One of the finest examples of this is Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah. The tournament offers bowlers to exhibit their skills while also further honing them. After almost 13 seasons, which bowlers has picked up most wickets in IPL? This is one question on everyone’s minds.

Most Wickets in IPL

1Lasith Malinga1221707.145/13
2Dwayne Bravo1511678.354/22
3Amit Mishra1541667.355/17
4Piyush Chawla1651577.884/17
5Harbhajan Singh1631507.075/18
6Ravichandran Ashwin1671456.914/34
7Sunil Narine1341436.745/19
8Bhuvneshwar Kumar1321427.35/19
9Yuzvendra Chahal1141397.594/25
10Jasprit Bumrah1061307.414/14

The answer to the bowler with most wickets in IPL history is Lasith Malinga with 170 wickets in 122 matches. Let us take a look at bowlers who have taken most wickets in IPL history.

1) Lasith Malinga – 170 wickets

One of the finest bowlers to have played cricket, Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga was a part of the IPL for 10 years from 2009 to 2019 before announcing retirement. The right arm pacer played 122 matches for five-time champions Mumbai Indians, picking up 170 wickets at an average of 19.79 and strike rate of 16.6.  He won the Purple Cap award in the fourth season of IPL with 28 scalps in 16 matches. Malinga was also the highest wicket-taker in the 2011 Champions League T20 tournament and was named player of the tournament for the same. One of Malinga’s most memorable performances for Mumbai Indians came in their fourth title win. He took a wicket on the last ball in the final where two runs were required. The Rohit Sharma-led side went on to win the match by 1 run.

2) Dwayne Bravo – 167 wickets

The all-time second-highest wicket-taker in the IPL is West Indies’ Dwayne Bravo, who has been playing the tournament since its inception in 2008. Although Bravo has played for three teams – CSK, Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians, his longest stint has been with the MS Dhoni-led side. The pacer was bought by the four-time champions at the 2011 auction and has been with them since. Overall, Bravo has played 151 IPL games, from which he has 167 wickets at an average and strike rate of 24.31 and 17.4. He won the purple cap in the 2013 season for taking 32 wickets at an average of 9.15. The all-rounder has also produced several match-winning performances with the bat.

3) Amit Mishra – 166 wickets

The third-highest wicket-taker in the IPL is Amit Mishra, who has played for Deccan Chargers, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 154 matches, the legbreak bowler has 166 wickets at an average and strike rate of 23.95 and 19.5. In IPL 2013, Mishra took a hat-trick for Sunrisers Hyderabad against the now defunct Pune Warriors India. This was his third hat-trick in the IPL, and made him the first player in the tournament to have three hat-tricks. He had previously taken a hat-trick in IPL 2008 playing for Delhi Capitals against Deccan Chargers and another one in in IPL 2011 playing for Deccan Chargers against Punjab Kings.  

4) Piyush Chawla – 157 wickets

The record for fourth-most wickets in IPL is held by Piyush Chawla, who has played most games of his IPL career for Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings. Besides KKR and PBKS, Chawla has also been with MI and CSK. In 165 IPL games, the slow bowler has 157 wickets at an average and strike rate of 27.39 and 20.8. He played an instrumental role in KKR’s title wins in 2012 and 2014.  After IPL 4, Chawla had taken 57 wickets in 55 matches and only five players had a better bowling record at that time.

5) Harbhajan Singh – 150 wickets

The fifth-most wickets in the IPL have been taken by veteran bowler Harbhajan Singh, who has spent most part of his career with the Mumbai Indians, apart from also being with CSK and KKR. In 163 games, the spinner has 150 wickets at an average and strike rate of 26.86 and 22.7. Singh started his IPL career against RCB, scoring two runs and picking up two wickets on his debut in 2008. 13 years later, he played his last IPL game for KKR against the same team he made his debut against. The offspinner will be a part of IPL 2022 as support staff of one of the teams.

6) Ravichandran Ashwin – 145 wickets

The sixth most wickets in IPL have been taken by Ravichandran Ashwin, who has played for four different teams – Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab and Rising Pune Supergiants. In 167 games, Ashwin has 145 wickets at an average and strike rate of 27.80 and 24.1. Ashwin has played most of his IPL games for CSK – he played the final for them in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2015. He played only five matches for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021 before deciding to take a break from the tournament and has made himself available for IPL 2022.  

7) Sunil Narine – 143 wickets

Spinner Sunil Narine, who has been with KKR since IPL 2012 and has been retained by the team ahead of IPL 2022, has 143 wickets from 134 IPL matches. He played an important role in the Kolkata-based team winning two IPL titles, and has been retained for the 2022 season. Narine picked up 24 wickets when KKR won their first title in 2012, and 21 wickets when they won their second title in 2014. He has also been an asset to the team with the bat, having a wonderful strike rate of 161.69.

8) Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 142 wickets

The fast bowler has been with the Sunrisers Hyderabad since IPL 2014, before which he was a part of RCB and PWI. Kumar has played 132 IPL games since joining the tournament in 2011, and has 142 wickets at an average of 25.26 and strike rate of 20.7. He has won the purple cap twice – in 2016 and 2017 respectively. In 2018, he was named the team’s vice-captain. However, owing to a dip in form and recurring injuries in the recent past, Kumar has not been retained by the franchise for IPL 2022.

9) Yuzvendra Chahal – 139 wickets

Since joining the IPL in 2013, Yuzvendra Chahal has played for MI and RCB, but majorly for the latter. The spinner has 139 wickets in 114 matches at an average and strike rate of 22.28 and 17.6. RCB have released the leg spinner ahead of the 2022 season despite him having played a key role in the success of the team over the years. Chahal is likely to be one of the highest-earning players at the 2022 auction.

10) Jasprit Bumrah – 130 wickets

10th on the list is one of the world’s best pacers currently, Jasprit Bumrah. At 19 years of age, Bumrah grabbed limelight when he finished with figures of 3/32 against RCB on his IPL debut for MI. Over the years, he has gone on to become Mumbai’s pace spearhead, and has 130 wickets in 106 games at an average and strike rate of 23.04 and 18.6.  In IPL 2021, Bumrah became the sixth player from Mumbai Indians to feature in 100 IPL games and has been retained by the franchise ahead of IPL 2022.

Also readIPL 2022 Mega Auction: Date and Time, New Rules, Teams, Retained Players

Ashish Pant
A fantasy gaming enthusiast, gaming writer and an out and out cricket nerd. I am an engineer by education who found his solace in writing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Download the MPL App