Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Mumbai Indians All Time XI

Mumbai Indians All Time XI

Mumbai Indians, also known as the Men in Blue, are the most successful franchise in IPL history. They have a win percentage of 57.97, with 109 wins in 188 appearances in the cricket fraternity rates as the best T20 league across the globe. 

The 2010 edition of IPL witnessed the Mumbai Indians make it to the finals. Though they lost the battle to the Chennai Super Kings, the performance they exhibited throughout the season gave a glimpse of something big that was about to unravel in the next few seasons. 

Cometh IPL 2011 auctions and the Men in Blue picked Rohit Sharma in their armory and little did they know that they have made a long-term investment in a cricketer who will take them to the top of the trophy count in the years to come. 

The masterstroke was when Rohit Sharma was appointed as the skipper midway in the 2013 season who then led the Mumbai Indians to their maiden title win. The season was highly memorable and to a large extent emotional too, considering it was Sachin Tendulkar’s last run in the Indian T20 tournament.

The victory over Chennai Super Kings in the finals of IPL 2013 was one of the turning points for Rohit & Co. as they went on to grab titles in the editions – 2015, 2017 and 2019, and established themselves as one of the greatest and most successful teams ever to have played the T20 format. 

On that note, let’s have a look at the Mumbai Indians All-Time XI. 

Top Order – Sachin Tendulkar, Lendl Simmons, Ambati Rayudu

Talk about Mumbai Indians and within minutes come Sachin Tendulkar’s name will pop up in discussion. The icon player for Mumbai Indians, Master Blaster put up commendable performances with the bat during the six years of his play in the IPL. He holds the record of fastest to 1000 runs by an Indian cricketer in IPL. It took him mere 31 innings to reach the landmark, a feat yet to be equalled or bettered. In the 2010 edition, Sachin struck 618 runs with five 50s and was highest run-getter in the tournament. 

Accompanying him at the top would be the Caribbean opener Lendl Simmons who rendered match-winning performances throughout the 2015 season wherein he aggregated 540 runs with a tally of 6 fifties. Not to forget, his 45-ball 68 in the finals against CSK which laid the foundation for MI’s triumph. 

At No 3, there has to be a player who can anchor and accelerate the scoring rate when needed. For Mumbai Indians, Ambati Rayudu played a pivotal role in this regard, and keeping in mind his additional wicket-keeping responsibilities, one can say he nailed the job with perfection. 

Middle Order – Rohit Sharma,  Kieron Pollard,  and Krunal Pandya 

The strength of Mumbai Indians lies in the middle order. Rohit Sharma has produced his best performances in IPL while batting at No 4. In 86 T20s, the Hitman has scored 2392 runs at a strike rate of 128.67. Not just with the bat, the way Rohit has captained Mumbai Indians and led them to IPL triumphs in four seasons (2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019)  is something that has garnered him immense adulation from the cricketing fraternity. 

Kieron Pollard at No 5 would be the icing on the cake for the middle order. One of the highly experienced and impactful cricketers in T20 cricket, Pollard has won matches for Mumbai Indians from almost impossible situations. Be it the 60* vs CSK in IPL 2013 finals, 36 vs CSK in IPL 2015 finals, or 47-ball 70 against RCB in IPL 2017 league stages when the team had lost four quick wickets, the Caribbean giant has been the go-to man for the Mumbai franchise.

Krunal Pandya has been a significant help for the Mumbai franchise. Batting at No 6, the southpaw can get those 30s and 40 at crucial stages, with his knocks of 45* and 47 in the Qualifier 2 and Finals of IPL 2017 being a testimony to the same. With the ball, he could be a partnership breaker in the middle overs. 

Lower Middle Order  – Hardik Pandya and Harbhajan Singh

Hardik Pandya has been the X factor for Rohit & Co. in the trophy winning seasons. The all-rounder has scalped over 40 dismissals and plays at strike rate of over 150. Batting in death overs can never be a problem with a player of Hardik’s caliber in the side. 

After Kung-Fu Pandya comes Harbhajan Singh who with his off-break and doosra has forced the rival players into giving up their wickets. In 136 T20s that he has played for the Mumbai Indians in IPL, the spin legend grabbed 127 wickets while averaging a decent 26.78. On occasions, with most notably being the 64 off 22 deliveries against Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2015, Harbhajan showed that he can strike the ball pretty hard and shift the pressure onto to the rivals. 

Pacers – Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah

Mitchell McClenaghan’s cutters and inswinging deliveries have been a blessing to Mumbai Indians since the 2015 edition. Averaging a decent 25.39, the Kiwi left-arm pacer has bagged 71 wickets in 56 IPL T20s. 

Strengthening the pace attack, there’s the inswinging yorker specialist Lasith Malinga and his apprentice Jasprit Bumrah who have bamboozled even the mightiest batsmen without breaking a sweat. 

In IPL’s leading wicket-takers tally, Malinga’s name is right on top. The Srilankan legend averages 19.89 and holds 170 wickets in 122 appearances. 

Meanwhile, Bumrah continues to grow immensely with each passing edition. At 26, the Gujarat lad is already among the greatest Indian fast bowlers with cracking exhibitions for the Mumbai Indians since the 2013 season. In IPL 2019, Bumrah picked 19 wickets at an astonishing economy of 6.63. What’s worth admiring is the manner in which he chokes the batsmen under nerve-wracking situations and cuts the run rate, an ability one cannot find in many cricketers of this generation. 

Mumbai Indians All Time XI 

Sachin Tendulkar , Lendl Simmons, Ambati Rayudu (wk), Rohit Sharma ©, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Make Your Fantasy Team Now on MPL Fantasy cricket app

V Shashank
A cricket aficionado who has been following the game since the historic Ashes 2013-14. "People throw stones at you, you turn them into milestones." - Sachin Tendulkar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular