Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Seven cities in Australia finalised for T20 World Cup 2022

Seven cities in Australia finalised for T20 World Cup 2022

Just two days after the conclusion of ICC T20 World Cup 2021, the world cricket body has announced seven host cities for the next edition, which is scheduled to take place in 2022. The 45-match long tournament, which will commence on October 16, will be played across Perth, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide.

The two semi-finals of the seven cities in Australia finalised for T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in Sydney and Adelaide, with the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground hosting the final on November 13.

While this will be the first time that the Adelaide Oval will host an ICC semi-final, the SCG has previously hosted the men’s 50-over World Cup semifinals in 1992 and 2015. The semifinals for the Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 was also held here.

Eight teams – India, South Africa, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Pakistan, England, New Zealand and Australia have already qualified for the Seven cities in Australia finalised for T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 stage. Sri Lanka, West Indies, Namibia, Scotland and four other qualifiers will be played in the preliminary round of the tournament to qualify for the Super 12s. The other four teams will be decided after two qualifying tournaments scheduled to be played next year in February and June.

“With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them,” ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said in a statement.

The recently-concluded 2021 edition was won by Australia after defeating New Zealand by eight wickets in the final in Dubai on Sunday. This was the maiden T20 World Cup win for the Kangaroos and they will now be looking to defend the title at home next year.

Also read: T20 World Cup 2021 Final: Australia vs New Zealand Talking Points

Umaima Saeed
A writer who primarily writes on cricket. As of 2021, she has covered cricket for more than a dozen publications.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular