Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home Top Blogs Where to watch the WI vs IND T20I series: Everything you need...

Where to watch the WI vs IND T20I series: Everything you need to know 

India’s men’s team has been pretty dominant on their all-format tour of the West Indies. Following the Test and ODI series, we have a WI vs IND T20I series on our hands and we are bringing you all the information about it. 

The men in blue clinched the Test series by 1-0 after rain denied them a victory in the second Test. They then made light work of the hosts in the first ODI, winning five wickets but went down by six wickets in the second game. 

The last time these two teams met in the shorter format was in August last year, when India toured the Caribbean for a limited overs series. The men in blue hammered the hosts in all three games to clinch the series by 3-0.

Also Read: 2019 world cup

Talking about the head to head record between these two sides in the shorter format, India have built quite a big gap in the scoreline. They have faced each other in 25 T20Is, out of which India have claimed 17 while West Indies have won seven. 

Before the two teams lock horns in the shorter format, here’s everything you need to know about the WI vs IND T20I series 2023 fixtures, where to watch and top players to watch out for.

WI vs IND 2023 T20I fixtures 

The two teams will have one day’s rest after their fifty-over battles as they gear up for the five-match T20I series, which kicks off on August 3. The first T20I will take place at the same venue as the final ODI that is Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba. 

The caravan will then move to Providence Stadium in Guyana, where the second and third T20I will take place on August 6 and 8 respectively. Lauderhill in Florida will also get to host India, with the final two games taking place at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground on August 12 and 13. 

All five matches will begin at 8 PM IST. 

DateFixtureVenueTime (IST)
August 31st T20IBrian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad8 PM
August 62nd T20IProvidence Stadium, Guyana8 PM
August 83rd T20IProvidence Stadium, Guyana8 PM
August 124th T20ICentral Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill8 PM
August 135th T20ICentral Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill8 PM

India men’s squads for WI vs IND T20I series 

India have rested their all-format players from this T20I leg of the tour, with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja leaving home early. There has also been uncertainty about whether Rohit and Kohli will be there for the T20 World Cup. 

Hardik Pandya, marked as the next in line for white-ball captaincy, will lead the side in this series with Suryakumar Yadav as his deputy. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma are likely to get opportunities in the series with several spots vacant. 

India T20I squad

Hardik Pandya (captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Where to watch the WI vs IND in India

For those living in India, you can witness the WI vs IND T20I series via multiple ways. For television viewers, Doordarshan Sports will broadcast the matches live on a free channel.   

For online streaming, Jio Cinema is your best option as they provide you the service for free. The online streaming service FanCode will also be streaming the entire WI vs IND series on mobile application as well as on their website. To catch the matches live on FanCode, you must have a paid subscription. You can get a monthly pass or a yearly pass with which you will have access to all the tournaments available on the site. 

Top Players to watch out for in WI vs IND T20I series

Shubman Gill (India)

Shubman Gill had an incredible season in the Indian T20 League earlier this year, where he amassed 890 runs in 17 games. He averaged 59 and struck at 158 to take Gujarat into the final. Gill hammered three hundreds and four fifties in the tournament. In his last T20I innings, he had blasted 126 off just 63 against New Zealand. 

Nicholas Pooran (West Indies)

Nicholas Pooran missed the ODI series due to his commitments with Major League Cricket but should be back for this series. He has been in terrific form with the bat, scoring 251 runs from seven games in the MLC at an average of 42 and strike rate of 142. He also amassed 350 runs in the ODI World Cup qualifier recently, averaging 70 at a strike rate of 117.

Axar Patel (India)

With Ravindra Jadeja rested, Axar Patel will be a crucial cog in the wheel for India in this series. The all-rounder has been in pretty good form and has improved his hitting ability. He has scored 400 runs in T20 cricket this year at an average of 36 while striking at 150. With the ball, he has taken 14 wickets at 7.20 rpo. 

Tilak Varma (India)

Tilak Varma is one of the most promising middle order batters in the country. India have been in search of a left hand destructive middle order batter for a while. Varma has earned a national call-up after two outstanding seasons for Mumbai in the Indian T20 League. This year, he scored 343 runs in 11 games at a strike rate of 164 while averaging 43. 

Akeal Hosein (West Indies)

Akeal Hosein has been on the rise in the T20 circuit with his accurate left arm spin and ability to smash the ball hard down the order. He recently bagged seven wickets in the MLC at an economy of 7.58 and smashed 33 not-out in 22 balls in one of the games. He has 86 wickets in his overall T20 career at an economy of 6.72. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular