Wednesday, April 24, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Which country won first T20 World Cup?

Which country won first T20 World Cup?

The first T20 World Cup was won by the Indian cricket team who had defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in the final by five runs to become the first World Champions in T20 in 2007.

The ICC T20 World Cup is an international tournament organised by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC) to determine the best T20-playing nation in the world. Currently, as many as 16 countries take part in the World Cup which obviously includes the top 10 ranked member nations while six others seal their World Cup tickets through qualifiers.

The event is usually held every two years but there was a long gap between 2016 and the most recent edition held in 2021 because of the change in ICC’s scheduling as well as the COVID-19 pandemic.

Seven editions of the T20 World Cup have been held so far with as many as six countries lifting the trophy. West Indies are the only country to have won two T20 World Cups, winning in 2012 and 2016.

Going into the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia, the home side will back themselves to succeed given that they are the defending champions after winning in 2021.

Without further ado, let’s discuss which country won first T20 World Cup and who have been the winners since then.

The first T20 World Cup winners

The Indian cricket team holds the distinguished honour of being the very first T20 World champions. India won the first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup, which was then called World T20, held in South Africa in 2007.

Twelve teams took part in that tournament with Kenya and Scotland accompanying the 10 Test-playing nations. Held between 11-24 September in 2007, India won by defeating Pakistan in the final. Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi won the player of the series award for his consistent and wonderful performances even though Yuvraj Singh had also set the tournament alight by smashing six consecutive sixes off Stuart Broad’s over and scoring the fastest 50 in T20 World Cup and international cricket history and following it with a majestic knock against Australia.

IND vs PAK 2007 T20 World Cup Final, South Africa

At the World T20 final, it was Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni who won the toss and elected to bat first. The tournament had tended to favour the batsmen and MS Dhoni’s men got off to a wonderful start thanks to some great shots from Gautam Gambhir. The opener made 75 from 54 balls but India lost wickets at the other end and no one could accompany him to build a strong partnership from the other end.

The team needed a late burst of acceleration and they got it through a young Rohit Sharma who made 30 off just 16 deliveries. The Indian team ended with a total of 157/5 and that was a competitive total in the early days of T20.

The pick of the Pakistan bowlers was Umar Gul who took 3/28 in his four overs to rattle and restrict the Indian batters.

In reply, Pakistan didn’t exactly get off to the perfect start they required with Mohammad Hafeez being dismissed in the first over itself. Imran Nazir blasted a brisk 33 from 14 balls and he found support from Younis Khan who aided the recovery with a run-a-ball 24. Irfan Pathan was proving to be India’s most productive bowler and his 3/16 would see him claim the Player of the Match award.

However, Pakistan lost wickets continually and had fallen behind in the final before Misbah-ul-Haq made 43 from the number six position. Misbah was still in when Pakistan faced the final over needing 13 runs to win. Joginder Sharma was India’s nominated bowler and, when his second ball disappeared for six, Pakistan became the absolute favourites.

It only seemed like a matter of time before they would win as Pakistan now needed just six from four balls with one wicket in hand. Misbah ul Haq had even remained on strike but this was the final wicket pairing. Having hit that six from Joginder’s second ball, Misbah then scooped the third delivery straight in the air, leaving Sreesanth with a simple catch. The Indian players and coaching staff then rushed from the dugout to the pitch to lift the players in celebration as a young Indian side led by MS Dhoni for the first time conquered the world.

T20 World Cup Winners in every edition

YearWinnersOpponents in the FinalFinal ResultVenue
2007IndiaPakistanIndia defeated Pakistan by five runsWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
2009PakistanSri LankaPakistan defeated Sri Lanka by eight wicketsLord’s Stadium, London
2010EnglandAustraliaEngland defeated Australia by seven wicketsKensington Oval, Barbados
2012West IndiesSri LankaWest Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runsR Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
2014Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka defeated India by six wicketsSher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
2016West IndiesEnglandWest indies defeated England by four wicketsEden Gardens, Kolkata
2020AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia defeated New Zealand by eight wicketsDubai International Stadium, Dubai

Since the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007, there have been six subsequent tournaments. Although the laws of T20 cricket have largely remained similar, there have been a few changes to the format of the World Cup.

12 teams featured in that inaugural T20 World Cup and, by the time the tournament was hosted in the UAE in 2021, that number had grown to include 16 nations. Even though the stronger teams tend to enjoy more success, the aim of the International Cricket Council is to continue to grow the spirit of cricket by involving more and more associate nations.


How many T20 World Cups have India won?

India have won just one T20 World Cup till date. That victory arrived in the inaugural edition of the international tournament in 2007.

Which country has won the most T20 World Cups?

West Indies, with two victories, have won the most T20 World Cups. In fact, they are the only country to win the T20 World Cup on more than one occasion. They became the first team to lift the World Cup trophy twice with their victory in 2016.

Who won the last Cricket ODI World Cup?

The last ODI Cricket World Cup was won by England in 2019. They lifted the trophy on their home turf after beating New Zealand in a controversial final.

Who are the defending ICC T20 World Cup champions in 2022?

Australia won the 2021 T20 World Cup held in UAE and they are the defending champions in the upcoming World Cup which will be held on home soil and they will be playing as the host nation.

When did Sri Lanka win their first T20 World Cup?

Sri Lanka won their first ICC T20 World Cup after defeating India in 2014 in the tournament held in Bangladesh. They erased the disappointment of finishing runners up in the previous edition and gave a fitting farewell to their legends like Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular