What is ODI in cricket?

A One-Day International or ODI is a limited-overs form in cricket that is played between two teams with international status. An ODI consists of 50 overs each played by the two teams and generally lasts for close to 8 hours. ODI is one of the oldest forms of cricket and was first played in 1971 between Australia and England. Australia won the game by 5 wickets. While there were a few matches here and there, ODI cricket took off only in the late 1970s when the Kerry Packer series was announced. Superstars from all over the world took part in the competition with coloured clothes being introduced and the games being played under lights for the first time. White balls were also introduced for the first time in the event, while the different camera angles and microphones to capture the audio of the players also came into the game.

ODIs are a quick format in which the results are declared in a single day rather than waiting for 5 days. An ODI Cricket World Cup is held every four years, a one-and-a-half month-long tournament at the end of which a champion is crowned. The first ODI World Cup was held in 1979 in England, with West Indies under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd taking the honours. The West Indies were again crowned winners in 1979 before India won their first ODI championship in 1983.

Also Read: What is T20I Cricket?

India becoming champions marked a significant chapter in the history of ODI cricket in India. The sport became a national obsession and has grown immensely since the time. The 1987 edition of the ODI World Cup was won by Australia, while Pakistan took the glory in 1992. The 1996 edition of the World Cup saw Sri Lanka becoming a force in cricket, with Arjuna Ranatunga taking a young team to glory.

The 1999 edition was the start of Australian dominance. They were ruthless across all facets and won the 1999, 20003 and 2007 editions of the Cricket World Cup. The ’99 semi-final match between Australia and South Africa is still rated one of the best ODI matches of all time. 

India won the 2011 edition of the World Cup under MS Dhoni after 28 years beating Sri Lanka in the final. Australia then claimed their fifth title beating New Zealand in the final of the 2015 World Cup in front of a packed Melbourne Cricket Ground. The 2019 edition of the World Cup saw England defeat New Zealand in one of the most pulsating matches one can remember in recent times.

There are bilateral encounters held around the year with teams taking part in various ODI series. The International Cricket Council recently introduced an ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, an ODI league, taking place from July 2020 to March 2023.

What are the rules of ODI cricket?

An ODI is played between two teams with 11 players on each side. The team batting first is allotted 50 overs in which they have to score as many runs as possible. The fielding side then gets a chance to bat,, and they have to try and chase down the target.

Each bowler is restricted to bowling a maximum of 10 overs, so a team must have five competent bowlers or bowling all-rounders on their side.

There are fielding restrictions for the first 10 overs, with only 2 fielders allowed outside the 30-yard circle. Between overs 11 and 40, four fielders will be allowed outside the 30-yard circle. In the last 10 overs, five fielders are allowed to field outside the 30-yard circle.

If a contest ends in a tie, there will be a Super Over or a one-over eliminator in place, which decides the winners of the contest.

If a match is affected by external conditions like bad weather and a certain number of overs are lost, then the target or result is determined by the Duckworth Lewis Stern method.

Currently, the 12 Test-playing nations have permanent ODI status. 

Also Read: What is Test Cricket?

ICC ODI Team Rankings

1New Zealand2054121
5South Africa245998
8West Indies252384
9Sri Lanka265783

Currently, 2019 ODI runners-up New Zelaand, are leading the ICC rankings for teams, with current title holders England in second place. Australia are in third place followed by India, South Africa and Pakistan. India have a chance to go up the ladder when they will face South Africa early next year. 

ICC ODI Player Rankings

Top Batsmen

1Babar AzamPakistan873
2Virat KohliIndia844
3Rohit SharmaIndia813
4Ross TaylorNew Zealand801
5Aaron FinchAustralia779
6Jonny BairstowEngland775
7David WarnerAustralia762
8Shai HopeWest Indies758
9Kane WilliamsonNew Zealand754
10Quinton de KockSouth Africa747

Top Bowlers

1Trent BoultNew Zealand737
2Josh HazlewoodAustralia709
3Mujeeb ur RahmanAfghanistan708
4Chris WoakesEngland700
5Mehedi HasanBangladesh692
6Matt HenryNew Zealand691
7Jasprit BumrahIndia679
8Mitchell StarcAustralia652
9Shakib Al HasanBangladesh650
10Kagiso RabadaSouth Africa646

Top All-rounders

1Shakib Al HasanBangladesh416
2Mohammad NabiAfghanistan294
3Chris WoakesEngland282
4Rashid KhanAfghanistan270
5Mitchell SantnerNew Zealand268
6Ben StokesEngland266
7Colin de GrandhommeNew Zealand257
8Imad WasimPakistan256
9Ravindra JadejaIndia238
10Sikandar RazaZimbabwe229

When we talk about the best batsmen in ODIs, Babar Azam leads the charts and is currently ranked NO.1 in the batting list. He is followed by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma in the top 3. Trent Boult is currently the no.1 ranked bowler according to the ICC rankings with the likes of Josh Hazlewood, Chris Woakes and Jasprit Bumrah also featuring in the top 10. Shakib Al Hasan heads the list for the No.1 all-rounder in terms of ICC rankings with Ravindra Jadeja the only Indian on the list. 

Who is the highest run-scorer in ODIs?

Sachin Tendulkar4631842644.83200*9649
Kumar Sangakkara4041423441.991699325
Ricky Ponting3751370442.041648230
Sanath Jayasuriya4451343032.361896828
Mahela Jayawardene4481265033.381447719
Virat Kohli2541216959.071836243
Jacques Kallis3281157944.361398617
Sourav Ganguly3111136341.021837222
Rahul Dravid3441088939.171538312

Even after so many years since he has retired, no one has come close to Sachin Tendulkar when we talk about the most runs in ODI cricket. The Indian maestro has smashed 18426 runs in 462 matches averaging 44.83 with 96 half-centuries and 49 tons. Amongst the current crop, only Virat Kohli is the one who is likely to break Tendulkar’s record and he is a distance away from the milestone. 

Who has taken the most number of wickets in ODIs?

BowlerMatchesWicketsBest Bowling
Muttiah Muralitharan3505347/30
Wasim Akram3565025/15
Waqar Younis2624167/36
Chaminda Vaas3224008/19
Shahid Afridi3983957/12
Shaun Pollock3033936/35
Glenn McGrath2503817/15
Brett Lee2213805/22
Lasith Malinga2263386/38
Anil Kumble2713376/12

Sri Lankan bowling legend Muttiah Muralitharan heads the lust for most wickets in ODIs. He picked up 534 wickets in 350 outings with best bowling figures of 7/30. Legends such as Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Lasith Malinga and Anil Kumble all feature in the list. 

ODI schedule for Team India for 2021-22

DateMatchVenueTime (IST)
January 11th, 2022India vs South Africa, 1st ODIPaarl2:00 PM IST
January 14th, 2022India vs South Africa, 2nd ODICape Town2:00 PM IST
January 16th, 2022India vs South Africa, 3rd ODICape Town2:00 PM IST
February 6th, 2022India vs West Indies, 1st ODIAhmedabad1:30 PM IST
February 9th, 2022India vs West Indies, 2nd ODIJaipur1:30 PM IST
February 12th, 2022India vs West Indies, 3rd ODIKolkata1:30 PM IST

The Indian team is in for yet another packed schedule. They are currently playing New Zealand in a T20I and Test series and will then head over to South Africa where they will play Tests, ODIs and Tests. West Indies then head over to India for a full series. India will be hoping for a much better show and get up the ladder on the ICC rankings. 

Also Read: Who is the best player in the IPL?