Hyderabad Team – The Giant Killers


Team Hyderabad Introduction

The winner of the Indian T20 Premier League in the year 2016, Hyderabad is one side that can never be under-estimated. Led by David Warner, Hyderabad hasn’t always looked the most potent side on paper but always punched above its weight in the league. The Hyderabad side made its first appearance in the league in 2013, and barring two seasons, has qualified for the playoffs each time. The franchise lifted the trophy in 2016 under the captaincy of Warner and finished as runners-up in 2018. The SOuthern giants does not have many big names but makes sure each player is backed to the hilt. It finished in third place in 2020 and will be gunning for glory come 2021.  

Hyderabad Team Origin: The Hyderabad team was founded in 2012 and made its first appearance in the league in 2013. The team plays all of its home matches at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, in Uppal.

Team Owners: The Hyderabad team is owned by Kalanithi Maran of the Sun TV Network

Team’s Last Year Glimpse: The year 2020 was a mixed bag of sorts for them. The team blew hot and cold but managed to reach the playoffs after an inspiring performance by captain Warner and Kane Williamson in the final few games. Hyderabad needed to win four of its last five matches and they did so to claim the final spot in the playoffs table. Hyderabad then beat Bangalore in the Eliminator but fell short in Qualifier 2 against Delhi. A third-place finish was still an exceedingly good result. 

Where the team currently stands: After a poor start to the Indian T20 Premier League 2021 season, Hyderabad is currently at the bottom of the points table. They resume their campaign in September.

Team’s ex-captains, Current Coaches, Home Ground: Kumar Sangakkara was the first Hyderabad captain in 2013, but Cameron White replaced him after only nine matches. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Daren Sammy, and Kane Williamson have all led this franchise. David Warner is the current captain of Hyderabad and has captained the side for the longest time. 

Tom Moody was the head coach of Hyderabad team from 2013 to 2019 before Trevor Bayliss took over the reins for the 2020 season. V. V. S. Laxman is the team’s batting coach, while Brad Haddin is the Assistant Coach. Muttiah Muralitharan serves as the bowling coach of the Orange Army.

List of all players in the team along with their nationality:

David Warner (Australia)

Abdul Samad (India)

Abhishek Sharma (India)

Khaleel Ahmed (India)

Jonny Bairstow (England)

Basil Thampi (India)

Priyam Garg (India)

Shreevats Goswami (India)

Jason Holder (West Indies)

Kedar Jadhav (India)

Siddarth Kaul (India)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

Mitchell Marsh (Australia)

Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)

Mujeeb ur Rahman (Afghanistan)

Shahbaz Nadeem (India)

T Natarajan (India)

Manish Pandey (India)

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

Wriddhiman Saha (India)

Sandeep Sharma (India)

Vijay Shankar (India)

Jagadeesha Suchith (India)

Virat Singh (India)

Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Top Auctioned Players of 2021: 

Hyderabad had a set base even before the auction hit and was largely quiet at the bidding table. The franchise put their paddles up for very few players and ended up acquiring just three of them. 

  • Kedar Jadhav – INR 2 crore
  • Mujeeb-ur-Rahman – INR INR 1.5 crore
  • J Suchith – INR 30 lakh

Indian T20 League Schedule 2021 for Hyderabad Team

Mumbai will play most of its games this season at MA Chidambaram Stadium, in Chennai (5), followed by Delhi (4), Kolkata (3), and Bengaluru (2). 

Day & DateMatchCityTime (IST)
Sunday, 11 Aprilvs KolkataChennai7:30 PM
Wednesday, 14 Aprilvs BangaloreChennai7:30 PM
Saturday, 17 Aprilvs MumbaiChennai7:30 PM
Wednesday, 21 Aprilvs PunjabChennai3:30 PM
Sunday, 25 Aprilvs DelhiChennai7:30 PM
Wednesday, 28 Aprilvs ChennaiDelhi 7:30 PM
Sunday, 2 Mayvs RajasthanDelhi 3:30 PM
Wednesday, 22 Septembervs DelhiDubai 7:30 PM
Saturday, 25 Septembervs Punjab Sharjah 7:30 PM
Monday, 27 Septembervs RajasthanDubai7:30 PM
Thursday, 30 Septembervs
Sharjah 7:30 PM
Sunday, 3 Octobervs KolkataDubai7:30 PM
Wednesday, 6 Octobervs BangaloreAbu Dhabi7:30 PM
Friday, 8 Octobervs MumbaiAbu Dhabi3:30 PM

Things to Know & Facts about the Hyderabad team

  • Hyderabad has won the Indian T20 Premier League once (2016) and finished runner-up once (2018). 
  • David Warner is the highest run-scorer for Hyderabad in the league. He has scored 3819 runs for the franchise in 87 matches at an impeccable average of 52.32.
  • David Warner holds the record for winning the most Orange Caps in the T20 League’s history (3).
  • Among the currently active teams, Hyderabad has the best record against Punjab (11 wins and 5 losses in 16 games) and the worst record against Chennai (4 wins and 10 losses in 14 matches).
  • Hyderabad’s highest score came against Bangalore – 231/2. Their lowest score in the league is against Mumbai – 96 all out against Mumbai.

Past Performance of Hyderabad in T20 Premier League

Hyderabad is one of the most consistent teams in the T20 League and has qualified for the playoffs in each season, barring 2014 and 2015. Here is how the team has fared since it first took part in the T20 league in 2013. 

2013Lost to Rajasthan in Eliminator
2014Finished sixth on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2015Finished sixth on the points table, failed to qualify for playoffs
2017Lost to Kolkata in Eliminator
2019Lost to Delhi in Eliminator
2020Lost to Delhi in Qualifier 2

How can Team Stats help you on MPL? 

On MPL, we provide you in-depth analysis and predictions, through our blogs, on the various teams that will be taking part in the Indian T20 Premier League. The statistics will help you decide which players to pick in your fantasy cricket teams for the matches. If you’re starting out, know the Tips & Tricks to playing Fantasy Cricket on MPL.

So what are you waiting for? Download the MPL Fantasy Cricket app and win real cash prizes!

Who is the captain of the Hyderabad team?

David Warner is currently leading the Hyderabad team.

Which is the home ground of Hyderabad?

Hyderabad plays all of its matches at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal. Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium is the second home ground of Hyderabad. 

What is the winning count of Hyderabad at the home ground?

The Hyderabad team has played 44 matches at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, out of which it has won 30 games – a win percentage of 68.1% 

How many times did Hyderabad win the T20 Premier League finals?

Hyderabad won the Indian T20 League once in 2016.

Who has won the Purple Cap in Hyderabad?

Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the Purple Cap for Hyderabad twice in 2016 (23 wickets) and 2017 (26 wickets). 

Who has won the Orange Cap in Hyderabad?

David Warner has won the Orange Cap for Hyderabad a record three times in 2015 (562 runs), 2017 (641 runs), and 2019 (692 runs). Kane Williamson was the winner of the Orange Cap in 2018 with 692 runs in the season.

Indian T20 Premier League Teams