FC Goa: The Gaurs

Founded: 16th August 2014

Owners: Goan Football Club Pvt. Ltd, Akshay Tandon, Jaydev Mody, Virat Kohli

Stadium: Fatorda Stadium, Margao

Titles: 0


FC Goa started its journey from the first edition and has turned into one of the most popular clubs in Indian football. They opened a new dimension in the Indian Super League when they roped in Zico as their coach in the inaugural season.

The club did well in the first season and went on to exceed the expectations in the next season as they reached the ISL final where they lost to Chennaiyin FC. The emergence of Zico transformed the club but the Brazilian departed after spending three seasons with the club.

The Gaurs also saw some exciting players with the likes of Roberto Pires and Lucio plying their trades for them and former Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli also owns a stake in the club.

They also became the first Indian club to claim a place in the AFC Champions League.

The likes of Sergio Lobera and Juan Ferrando also have given Goa a new identity which has been their path to success.

FC Goa: Results in Indian Super League

2015-16Runners up
2018-19Runners up

FC Goa have had an envious Indian Super League journey as they have been very consistent since the inception of the league. Zico led them to two playoff appearances in the first two seasons where they went on to lose in the semifinals and finals respectively.

They have so far managed a playoff appearance in every season barring in the 2016-17 season when they came last in the ISL.

They couldn’t get the better of Bengaluru FC in the final in the 2018-19 season and also managed a semifinal appearance in the last two seasons.

FC Goa: Top Scorers in ISL

2013-14Miroslav Slepicka107
2015-16Rafael Coelho115
2017-18Ferran Corominas1818
2018-19Ferran Corominas2016
2019-20Ferran Corominas1714
2020-21Igor Angulo2114

Ferran Corominas who is also fondly called ‘Coro’ has been a revelation since he arrived at the Indian Super League to play for FC Goa. The forward has the knack to score goals on a regular basis and scored galore of goals in the Goa jersey.

FC Goa: ISL 2021-22 Fixtures

DateDayFixtureVenueTime (IST)
November 22, 2021MondayMumbai City FC vs FCGPJN Stadium, Fatorda7:30 PM IST
November 26, 2021FridayFCG vs Jamshedpur FCAthletic Stadium, Bambolim7:30 PM IST
December 4, 2021SaturdayNorthEast United FC vs FCGPJN Stadium, Fatorda7:30 PM IST
December 7, 2021TuesdaySC East Bengal vs FCGTilak Maidan Stadium7:30 PM IST
December 11, 2021 SaturdayFCG vs Bengaluru FCAthletic Stadium, Bambolim9:30 PM IST
December 18, 2021SaturdayFCG vs Hyderabad FCAthletic Stadium, Bambolim9:30 PM IST
December 24, 2021FridayOdisha FC vs FCGTilak Maidan Stadium7:30 PM IST
December 29, 2021WednesdayATK Mohun Bagan vs FCGPJN Stadium, Fatorda7:30 PM IST
January 2, 2022SundayKerala Blasters vs FCGTilak Maidan Stadium7:30 PM IST
January 8, 2022  SaturdayFCG vs Chennaiyin FCAthletic Stadium, Bambolim9:30 PM IST
January 14, 2022FridayFCG vs NorthEast United FCBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
January 19, 2022WednesdayFCG vs SC East BengalBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
January 23, 2022SundayBengaluru FC vs FCGBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
January 28, 2022FridayJamshedpur FC vs FCGBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
February 1, 2022TuesdayFCG vs Odisha FCBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
February 10, 2022ThursdayChennaiyin FC vs FCGTilak Maidan Stadium7:30 PM IST
February 14, 2022MondayHyderabad FC vs FCGBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
February 20, 2022SundayFCG vs Mumbai City FCBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
February 25, 2022FridayFCG vs ATK Mohun BaganBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST
March 5, 2022SaturdayFCG vs Kerala BlastersBambolim Athletic Stadium7:30 PM IST

FC Goa: Squad for ISL 2021-22

Goalkeepers: Dheeraj Moirangthem, Naveen Kumar, Hrithik Tiwari

Defenders: Aiban Dohling, Anwar Ali, Dylan Fox, Ivan Gonzalez, Lalhmangaihsanga, Leander D’Cunha, Mohamed Ali, Sanson Pereira, Saviour Gama, Seriton Fernandes

Midfielders: Alberto Noguera, Alexander Jesuraj, Brandon Fernandes, Christy Davis, Danstan Fernandes, Edu Bedia, Flan Gomes, Glan Martins, Makan Chothe, Muhammed Nemil, Nongdamba Naorem, Princeton Rebello, Redeem Tlang

Forwards: Airam Cabrera, Devendra Murgaonkar, Jorge Ortiz

Buoyed by their performance in the last season FC Goa brought in the likes of  Dylan Fox, Airam Cabrera, Nongdamba Naorem and Anwar Ali. Anwar was barred by the All India Football Federation as he was diagnosed with a heart condition. But the player fought his way out and sought approval from AIFF to join FC Goa this season.

FCG: Interesting ISL stats

Goa were undefeated for 15 matches in the last season which is a record in the Indian Super League. They scored 51 goals in the 2019-20 season which is still a record for the most goals scored in a season. They also hold the record for having the most superior goal difference (+23) across the season in 2019-20.

FCG: Rivalries

The West India derby between Mumbai City FC and FC Goa has had its fair share of excitement. Their frequent meetings in the playoffs have seen them rubbing their shoulders quite often. They drubbed aside Mumbai 7-0 in the ISL back in 2015 which is still a record for the highest margin of victory by a team.

FC Goa vs Mumbai City Head to Head

Matches PlayedWonLostTied

Road Ahead for FCG

FC Goa have been a hugely successful outfit but they are yet to lift the ISL trophy for once so far. The ultimate glory might have eluded them so far but they are known for their particular brand of entertaining football and thus have garnered millions of followers.

Their consistency in the league has been pretty high and they will like to keep the momentum high. 

With the pandemic looming large it becomes tough to sustain as clubs tend to lose revenue as games are being played behind closed doors. Goa has been on a cost-cutting mode to optimize things at the club and they need time to cope with the difficulties.

Goa has developed a number of players with the likes of Saviour Gama and Princeton Rebello who burst into the scene and are destined to make their way to the top.