Thursday, November 30, 2023
Home Fantasy Cricket Most wickets in IPL 2022: Who won the Purple Cap?

Most wickets in IPL 2022: Who won the Purple Cap?

Yuzvendra Chahal picked up the most wickets in IPL 2022 and was awarded the Purple Cap. Unfortunately, his side Rajasthan Royals finished runners-up in IPL 2022.

The Purple Cap is an extremely prestigious award in the Indian Premier League. Every season, it is awarded to the bowler who takes the most wickets in the tournament. Bowlers try to take as many wickets as possible every year, not only to help their team succeed but also to claim glory by finishing as the highest wicket-taker.

Not only are purple cap winners rewarded with fame and glory, but they also win a trophy as well as a huge financial reward. Over the years, there have been several surprising Purple Cap winners and so far, 13 different bowlers have finished with the most wickets in an Indian Premier League season.

But who was the most impactful bowler and picked up the most wickets in IPL 2022? Let’s discuss:

Most wickets in IPL 2022: Yuzvendra Chahal

POSPlayerMatchesWicketsBBIAverageEconomy RateStrike Rate4w5w
1Yuzvendra Chahal172740/519.517.7515.1111
2Wanindu Hasaranga162618/516.537.5413.1511
3Kagiso Rabada132333/417.658.4512.5220
4Umran Malik142225/520.189.0313.411
5Kuldeep Yadav142114/419.958.4314.1920
6Mohammad Shami162025/324.4818.300
7Josh Hazlewood122025/418.858.113.9510
8Rashid Khan161924/422.156.5920.1510
9Harshal Patel151934/421.577.6616.8910
10Prasidh Krishna171922/3298.282100

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rajasthan Royals | 27 wickets in 17 matches

Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap in IPL 2022 and took the most wickets in IPL that season. He was the leading wicket taker with 27 wickets in 17 matches. Although Chahal is no longer a regular starter in the Indian national team, he made a major impression with his performances for Rajasthan Royals. He made his way to the leading wicket takers’ chart and finished with the most wickets in IPL 2022.

Also Read: Most wickets in IPL

Chahal had a bowling average of 19.51 and maintained a great economy rate of 7.75. He also registered a four-wicket as well as a five-wicket haul. during the IPL 2022. IPL 2022 was Chahal’s first ever Purple Cap win.

Wanindu Hasaranga, Royal Challengers Bangalore | 26 wickets in 16 matches

Royal Challengers Bangalore had shelled out big bucks on purchasing Wanindu Hasaranga at the auction. His demand was high given that he had finished as the highest wicket-taker in the T20 World Cup in 2021. Hasaranga lived up to those demands and expectations and provided a constant wicket threat for RCB.

The flamboyant Sri Lankan all-rounder scalped 26 wickets in 16 matches. He had a great average of 16.53, the best out of anyone in the top five. Hasaranga also maintained a strong economy of 7.54 while also registering one four-wicket haul and also a fifer.

Kagiso Rabada, Punjab Kings | 23 wickets in 13 matches

Kagiso Rabada is one of the most consistent wicket-takers in the Indian Premier League. The South African pace bowler finished as the highest wicket-taker in IPL 2020 when he was playing for Delhi Capitals. Rabada had taken 30 wickets in 17 matches that season, the third-highest tally for a Purple Cap holder.

He was in great form in IPL 2022 as well, playing for his new side Punjab Kings. Rabada claimed 23 wickets in 13 games at a strong average of 17.65. However, he was a bit on the expensive side and had an economy of 8.45. Rabada also picked up two four-wicket hauls.

Umran Malik, Sunrisers Hyderabad | 22 wickets in 14 matches

Umran Malik was a major revelation in IPL 2022. The tearaway pace bowler from Jammu and Kashmir broke the speed barrier in the league for fun and troubled batters with his pace, bounce and accuracy. Having been retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad, he repaid their faith and scalped 22 wickets in 14 matches throughout the season.

Also Read: Highest team score in IPL 2022

His best bowling figures in the tournament were 5/25. However, Umran also proved to be expensive and had an economy rate of over nine. This is expected given that many batters decided to use his own pace against him and got the better of him in matches.

Kuldeep Yadav, Delhi Capitals | 21 wickets in 14 matches

Kuldeep Yadav is another player whose story last season was quite similar to Chahal’s. After falling out of contention from the Indian team due to a string of poor performances and selection conundrums, Kuldeep bounced back with a pivotal campaign for Delhi Capitals.

He picked up 21 wickets in 14 matches and troubled the opposition with his spin bowling. His best performance in IPL 2022 was a 4/14 spell and Kuldeep had an average close to 20. However, he also proved to be expensive and had an economy rate of 8.43.

Most wickets in IPL: Purple Cap award

The Purple Cap was introduced in the very first season of the Indian Premier League in 2008. The Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler who picks up the most wickets in the tournament. Throughout the course of the season, the purple cap holder will keep changing on the basis of who leads the wickets tally.

Also Read: New IPL teams 2022

The Purple Cap is eventually awarded to the player who finishes with the most wickets and is the leading wicket taker. In case of a tie, it is given to the bowler who has a superior economy rate. The winner gets an award which is the replica of the purple cap and he is also awarded Rs 10 lakhs as prize money.

Most wickets in IPL: Purple cap winners from 2008 – 2022

2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals1727
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore1532
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals1730
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings1726
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab1424
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad1426
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad1723
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings1726
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings1623
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings1832
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils1625
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians1628
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers1621
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers1623
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals1122

Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanvir was the first recipient of the Purple Cap award. He picked up 22 wickets in 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals and played a crucial role in helping them win the inaugural IPL trophy in 2008.

Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the only two players who have won the Purple Cap award for picking the most wickets in an IPL season on multiple occasions. Bravo even holds the record for taking the most wickets in a single IPL season and it is a record he shares with Harshal Patel. Both the players scalped 32 wickets each in IPL 2013 and IPL 2021 respectively.


Who picked up the most wickets in IPL 2021?

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Harshal Patel was the highest wicket-taker in IPL 2021 and picked up 32 wickets, equalling Dwayne Bravo’s record-setting feat from IPL 2013.

Who was the highest run-scorer in IPL 2022?

Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler, who scored 863 runs in 17 matches, was the highest run-scorer in IPL 2022 and won the Orange Cap.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments