Friday, May 24, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Who is SRH Captain for IPL 2022? – A Brief History

Who is SRH Captain for IPL 2022? – A Brief History

Sunrisers Hyderabad was formed in 2012 after the original Hyderabad-based franchise, Deccan Chargers was terminated from the Indian Premier League. Sunrisers Hyderabad, owned by the Sun TV Network, have been one of the successful teams over the years. The current SRH captain is Kane Williamson while a number of decorated players have led the SRH side in the past.

Deccan Chargers were captained by VVS Laxman, Adam Gilchrist, Kumar Sangakkara and Cameron White before its termination in 2012. Under Gilchrist’s leadership, Deccan Chargers won an IPL title in 2009.

Sunrisers Hyderabad were granted an option to carry over the players from IPL 2012 Deccan Chargers squad and they did retain most of the players, including captain Sangakkara.

SRH have made it to the playoffs in every season since 2016 with two appearances in the IPL final. They have also tasted an IPL title glory in 2016. Here we take a look at all the players that have captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL history.

Kumar Sangakkara (2013)

Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara was retained as SRH captain for the 2013 IPL edition. While SRH had a good season, Sangakkara’s poor individual form meant that SRH kept switching the captaincy between him and Cameron White throughout the season.

Sangakkara led SRH in nine games in IPL 2013, winning five and losing four of those. As a player he failed to make any impact, scoring 120 runs at an abysmal average of 13.3 and strike rate of 88.2.

Cameron White (2013)

Australian Cameron White was one of the players SRH had retained ahead of the season. Much like Sangakkara, Cameron White struggled to get going with the bat in IPL 2013 but was handed over the captaincy for team balance.

White led Sunrisers Hyderabad in the second half of the tournament as they made it to the playoffs in their debut season. SRH eventually lost in the Eliminator to Rajasthan Royals. Under White’s leadership, SRH played eight games, winning five and losing three.

Shikhar Dhawan (2013-2014)

Shikhar Dhawan, another player who was retained from the previous Hyderabad franchise. Sunrisers made it to the playoffs in IPL 2013 and qualified for the Champions League T20, where Dhawan received his first opportunity to lead the side.

In CLT20, SRH passed the qualifying group stage with two wins but failed in the main group stages. Dhawan continued as the skipper in IPL 2014 but was sacked after a poor start, eventually finishing sixth.

Overall, Dhawan led SRH in 16 matches, winning seven and losing nine. The southpaw remained a part of SRH until 2018, scoring 2768 runs averaging 35 with a strike rate of 125.

Darren Sammy (2014)

The West Indies’ T20 World Cup winning captain was part of the Hyderabad franchise for two years in 2013-14. SRH had an underwhelming season in 2014, where they had lost six out of first 10 matches. As a consequence, Dhawan was sacked and Darren Sammy was named as the new skipper. In four matches that he led, Sunrisers won two and lost as many matches.

David Warner (2015-2021)

Australia’s explosive batsman, David Warner was released by Delhi in an attempt to completely revamp their squad. Their loss turned out to be someone else’s gain as SRH snapped Warner for Rs. 5.5 crores in a bidding war against Mumbai Indians in the 2014 auction. After an outstanding season with the bat in 2014, Warner was promoted to captaincy in the following year.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have seen their most successful years under Warner’s leadership. In his debut season as the skipper, SRH missed out on the playoffs narrowly due to net run-rate. They made a spectacular comeback in IPL 2016, winning their first ever IPL trophy by beating RCB in the final. SRH are the only team in IPL history to claim the trophy by winning three knockout matches – eliminator, qualifier 2 and the final.

Warner led SRH in 2017, where they finished third but lost in the Eliminator. He played as a player in 2019 after returning from a one-year ban and later took over the captaincy in IPL 2020. This successful association between SRH and Warner had a bitter fallout when he was sacked from the captaincy and playing XI after six matches in the 2021 edition.

Overall, Warner has led SRH in 67 games, out of which they won 35 and lost 32. As a player, Warner has been arguably the greatest batter in the IPL with six consecutive seasons of 500+ runs. Warner scored over 4000 runs for SRH with an astonishing average of 50.8 at a strike rate of 142.8.

Kane Williamson (2018-Present)

New Zealand batsman Kane Williamson, who was originally picked by Sunrisers in the 2015 auction for Rs. 60 lakhs, was bought back in the 2018 auction for Rs. 3 crores. Williamson was appointed as the skipper for IPL 2018 in the absence of David Warner.

Williamson was impressive both as batsman and captain in the season as SRH topped the group stage and reached the final by defeating KKR in the Qualifier 2. Their dream run ended as they ended up on a losing side against CSK in the final. In IPL 2019, Williamson took over the captaincy after the first six matches and led the side to another top 4 finish.

Williamson was once again handed over the responsibility after the sacking of David Warner in IPL 2021 and is likely to continue leading the side in future. Overall, he has captained SRH in 27 matches, winning 14 and losing 13 of those. Williamson has scored 1742 runs for SRH with an average and strike rate of 41.6 and 134.2, respectively.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2019)

India’s premier pacer at one time, Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the spearhead of the SRH bowling attack and has been a key part of the team despite several injuries hampering his career.

Bhuvneshwar was appointed as the skipper ahead of the 2019 edition but was removed midway after a poor start. He led Sunrisers Hyderabad in only matches, winning only two and losing four. He has picked 115 wickets in 95 games for SRH at an economy rate of 7.49.

Also Read: Who is the owner of Delhi Capitals?

Ashish Pant
A fantasy gaming enthusiast, gaming writer and an out and out cricket nerd. I am an engineer by education who found his solace in writing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular