Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Home Top Blogs Which team has incurred the most consecutive losses in IPL?

Which team has incurred the most consecutive losses in IPL?

The team with the most consecutive losses in IPL history is Pune Warriors India and Delhi Daredevils. During the 2012 and 2013 seasons, Pune Warriors suffered 11 consecutive losses, a record that still stands today, while the Daredevils had a similar run of form during the 2014 and 2015 seasons, where thet lost 11 matches in a row. 

This year, the Capitals added another embarrassing record to their tally as they lost their first five games in a row. However, they were able to break their losing streak in their last match against Kolkata Knight Riders, where they won by four wickets.

Most Consecutive Losses in IPL History


Pune Warriors India (11 consecutive losses)

In 2011, Pune Warriors India made their debut in 2011 and started their campaign with two back-to-back wins, giving a promising start to their journey. However, their momentum was short-lived as they faced seven consecutive losses, derailing their performance for the remainder of the season. Pune Warriors India could only win four matches out of 14, which is a disappointing record for any team in the IPL.

The following year, the Warriors’ fortunes mostly stayed the same as they won four out of their first seven games but then lost their next nine matches. Their dismal run of form meant that they finished at the bottom of the table, making them one of the least successful teams in the league. In the IPL 2013, the Warriors suffered two more losses that extended their consecutive loss count to 11, a record that stands to this day. Ultimately, they could only win four out of 16 matches, finishing in the second-last position.

After the completion of IPL 2013, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) terminated the franchise’s contract, and the team had to exit the tournament. The Warriors’ journey in the IPL lasted only three years, where they played a total of 45 games and suffered 33 losses, making them one of the least successful teams in the tournament’s history.

Delhi Daredevils (11 consecutive losses in 2014-2015)

The Delhi Daredevils made their IPL debut in 2008 and had a successful campaign finishing in fourth place, winning seven of their 14 games. They improved on their performance in the following year, finishing in first place with 10 wins out of 14 games. However, their fortunes took a turn for the worse as they failed to qualify for the playoffs in 2010 and 2011, finishing in 5th and 10th place, respectively. The team returned to form in 2012 with 11 wins in 16 games, qualifying for the playoffs. However, in 2013, they performed poorly and ended up losing 12 of their 16 games, finishing at the bottom of the table. The team’s struggles continued in the following years, with the 2014 campaign being particularly disastrous, managing only two wins in 14 games and suffering nine consecutive losses. In 2015, the Daredevils started with two more losses, taking their consecutive losses to 11.

Kolkata Knight Riders (9 consecutive losses in 2009)

Kolkata Knight Riders are the third most successful team in the Indian Premier League’s history behind Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. They had one of the most beautiful starts to their IPL campaign courtesy of that inning from Bendon McCullum. However, they managed to win just six out of 14 games in 2008 and finished in sixth place. The following year was the darkest phase in their history, winning just three out of 14 games and ending up in last place. Their campaign in 2009 began with a loss to Deccan Chargers by eight wickets, but they secured their first win against Kings XI Punjab in their next match. Unfortunately, KKR’s triumph was short-lived as they went on to lose the next nine games, setting an embarrassing record for the most consecutive losses in a season at the time

Pune Warriors India (9 consecutive losses in 2013)

In 2013, the Pune Warriors India set an embarrassing record by losing their first two games of the IPL season, taking their consecutive losses tally to 11. However, despite this setback, the team managed to defeat heavyweight opponents such as the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings that season. Following two wins in their next three games, the team’s fortunes took a turn for the worse once again. The Warriors suffered nine consecutive losses, equalling the record for the most consecutive losses in an IPL season. However, the team managed to end their campaign on a high note, winning their last two games against the Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils. Pune Warriors India holds the record for the lowest win percentage in IPL history. The team’s poor performance was attributed to a variety of factors, including a lack of consistent leadership and team cohesion. In addition, the team struggled to find a balance between their domestic and international players, leading to a disjointed and ineffective playing style.

Mumbai Indians (8 Losses 2022)

The Mumbai Indians, who hold the record for being the most successful team in the Indian Premier League, had a tough run in 2022 as they faced eight consecutive losses. In 2020, they became five-time champions, but in the 2022 season, they could only manage to win four out of 14 games, which placed them in the last position in the points table. This was the second time that the team had finished at the bottom of the table, having previously won only five out of 14 games in 2009, ending up in the second-last place. Despite their disappointing performance in the 2022 season, the Mumbai Indians remain one of the most successful teams in the IPL’s history, and their fans hope they can bounce back in the upcoming season.

Delhi Daredevils (8 losses from 2012-2013)

In 2012, Delhi Daredevils won 11 out of 16 games to finish in the first place and qualified for the playoffs. They lost the first qualifier against Kolkata Knight Riders and the second qualifier against Chennai Super Kings. In 2013, the Daredevils lost their first seven games, which took the toll of consecutive losses to 8.

Pune Warriors India (7 consecutive losses in 2011)

In 2011, Pune Warriors India made their debut in IPL and won their first two games. They went on to lose the next seven games and set another record for the most consecutive losses.

Deccan Chargers (7 consecutive losses in 2008)

Deccan Chargers won the 2009 edition of the tournament but had one of the worst starts to the tournament in 2008. They suffered three losses at the start of the tournament before getting their first win. The Chargers won two of their first seven games and lost the last seven.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (7 consecutive losses in 2019)

Royal Challengers Bangalore hit their lowest during the 2017 to 2019 editions of the tournament as they failed to qualify for the playoffs and finished in the last place twice in three seasons. They lost their last group stage game in 2018 and the opening six games in 2019 to set an unwanted record of losing seven consecutive games.


Most consecutive wins in an IPL season

Kolkata Knight Riders won 10 consecutive games during the 2014 and 2015 editions of the IPL.

Most losses by a team in IPL

Delhi Capitals have suffered 123 losses in 230 IPL games so far.

Most consecutive IPL losses in 2022

Mumbai Indians lost eight consecutive games in IPL 2022.

Most losses in IPL as captain

MS Dhoni holds the record for most wins as well as most losses in IPL as captain.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular