Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket What is SRH full form in IPL?

What is SRH full form in IPL?

There is absolutely no doubt that the Indian Premier League (IPL) is arguably the best T20 franchise tournament going around in world cricket. The quality of cricket is top-notch. Moreover, best players from around the world compete with and against each other in this cash-rich T20 league. At the moment, the IPL comprises of eight teams. In the last nine seasons or so, SRH or famously known as the Orange Army by the fans has been one of the most consistent sides in the IPL.

Here, we look at the all-important question of what is the full form of SRH? We also take a dive in to a few more details about the 2016 IPL winning franchise.

SRH full form in IPL

The full form of SRH in the IPL is Sunrisers Hyderabad. Among the current eight sides, they are the only side that didn’t make their debut in 2008. They came into existence in 2012 and made their debut in 2013. Despite making a late entry into the IPL, they have been very consistent in the last few years. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad who are currently led by Kane Williamson have some popular faces from the international arena. David Warner has been the flag bearer of the franchise while Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the prominent Indian player. Rashid Khan and Jonny Bairstow are the other key figures in the side. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad took shape in 2012 as they took over from the now-defunct Deccan Chargers and it was Kalanithi Maran of the SUN Group who became the owner of the franchise. The Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad is the home ground of Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

Also Read: What is KKR full form in IPL?

Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL over the years

IPL 2013: Sunrisers Hyderabad had a pretty good debut season. They won 10 out of the 16 league games and qualified for the playoffs. They lost to Rajasthan Royals in the Eliminator and finished fourth.

IPL 2014: The 2014 season was not a great season for Sunrisers Hyderabad. They returned with just six wins from 14 games and finished sixth on the points table. 

IPL 2015: 2015wasn’t a great improvement from 2014. Sunrisers Hyderabad could mustered seven wins and lost as many games as they once again finished at the sixth position on the points table. 

IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad went on to lift their maiden IPL title in 2016. They had finished third on the points table and they became the first and only team to win the IPL title after finishing outside the top-two since the qualifiers came into play. The David Warner-led side beat Kolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat Lions and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Eliminator, Qualifier 2 and Final respectively.

IPL 2017: Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their good form in 2017 as they reached the playoffs for the third time in the history of IPL. They finished fourth on the points table as they won eight games in the league stages. However, they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the Eliminator. 

IPL 2018: 2018 was another fantastic year for Sunrisers Hyderabad. They topped the league phase with nine wins and five losses. They reached the final but went down against Chennai Super Kings. 

IPL 2019: In 2019, Sunrisers Hyderabad were very inconsistent. They won six games in the league stages. They finished fourth and qualified for the playoffs. However, they lost to Delhi Capitals in the Eliminator.

IPL 2020: In 2020, Sunrisers Hyderabad were once again inconsistent. They needed to win three games in a row towards the end of the league phase to qualify for the playoffs and they did exactly that. They beat Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Eliminator but lost to Delhi Capitals in the Qualifier 2. 

IPL 2021: Only half the season has been played in 2021 and it has been by far Sunrisers Hyderabad’s worst season in the history of the IPL. They have just one win from seven matches and are languishing at the bottom of the points table.


Sunrisers Hyderabad have been one of the most consistent sides in the IPL over the last few years. They had an indifferent start to their IPL journey as they made it to the playoffs in the first season before failing in the next two. However, since the start of 2016, the Orange Army have finished in the top four every single time here. In 2021, SRH had a bit of teething issues with regards to the leadership and the break came at the right time for them. The IPL is all set to resume in September and with Kane Williamson as captain of the squad, SRH will look to get over the initial hiccups and try and win the trophy for the second time.

Read More: What is CSK full form in IPL?

Ashish Pant
A fantasy gaming enthusiast, gaming writer and an out and out cricket nerd. I am an engineer by education who found his solace in writing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular