Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Know which team has won most matches in IPL history

Know which team has won most matches in IPL history

Most T20 leagues following a league-plus knockout format have found that their most successful team isn’t often the one with the best win percentage. The trend, however, changes when we ask which team has won most matches in IPL history – the answer is Mumbai Indians – the five-time title winners.

Mumbai have been the most successful team in the Indian Premier League with five titles to their name, and they enjoy the highest winning percentage in the tournament’s history.

Which team has won most matches in IPL – Full list from current playing teams

RankTeamsPeriodMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches LostWin Percentage (%)IPL Titles won
1Chennai Super Kings (CSK)2008–2015, 2018–20222091178658.414
2Delhi Capitals (DC)2008–202222410011845.940
3Gujarat Titans202216124751
4Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)2008–202222311310651.562
5Lucknow Super Giants20221596600
6Mumbai Indians (MI)2008–20222311299856.75
7Punjab Kings (PBKS)2008–20222189811645.870
8Rajasthan Royals (RR)2008–2015, 2018–2022192949350.261
9Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)2008–202222710711348.650
10Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)2013–20221527474501

CSK sits second on the list with the most number of wins in IPL matches

While Chennai Super Kings trail Mumbai Indians by one IPL title, the MS Dhoni-led side has been one of the consistent teams in the tournament. CSK have played 195 matches so far with 117 wins in IPL games with a win percentage of 60.56. CSK is also the only team in IPL to reach the playoffs eleven times and the final match on nine occasions. They come to IPL 2022 as the defending champions after they won their fourth title last year.

5-time IPL winners MI has won the most number of IPL matches

Given CSK’s suspension from the Indian Premier League during 2016 and 2017, Mumbai Indians have played more matches than their rivals Chennai Super Kings in IPL. However, Rohit Sharma and Co. have still won just 58.6% of their matches. They have played 217 matches so far and won 125 matches.

KKR holds a unique record in IPL wins

Two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders sit third on the list of IPL match wins with 107 victories and 209 matches, enjoying a win percentage of 52.15. KKR are also the first team and the only IPL side to register 10 consecutive wins in the tournament, a feat they pulled off in the 2014-15 IPL season. KKR are also the only other team apart from CSK and MI to register over 100 wins in IPL. Under Gautam Gambhir‘s captaincy, KKR went on to win the IPL title in 2012 and 2014.

Delhi Capitals rising the ranks with a renewed approach

Before the Delhi team became Delhi Capitals (DC), they were known as Delhi Daredevils (DD) and their record was dismal. DD held the record for the most number of consecutive defeats in one IPL season (9) that took place in the 2014 season. DD are also the team to lose 11 wins in a row, which is the most number of consecutive defeats by any IPL team. However, since 2019, Delhi Capitals have made it to the playoffs every season and currently sit sixth on the list of IPL teams with the most wins.

RCB sit fourth with some dismal outings

Despite being one of the most followed and celebrated teams in the Indian Premier League, Royal Challengers Bangalore have never won the IPL and have mostly ended their IPL campaigns in the league stages despite boasting of players like Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle and more in their side. RCB have won 98 matches of the 211 matches that they have played in IPL.

Punjab Kings have the worst win percentage in IPL

Yet another IPL franchise like RCB, who have always had a star-studded squad but could never reach their potential. Unlike Delhi Capitals, changing their name from Kings XI Punjab to Punjab Kings hasn’t helped the side. Not only have PBKS never won the IPL, but they have also managed to reach the playoffs only twice in the last 13 seasons of the competition. Punjab has won just 91 times in 209 IPL games.

The win records of other teams are Sunrisers Hyderabad (50.72%) and Rajasthan Royals (49.42%).


Which team became the first in IPL to win 100 matches?

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians were the first team to win 100 matches in IPL. They attained this feat during the 2019 IPL season after they had defeated Chennai Super Kings in the league stages. The CSK side was then trailing Mumbai by seven IPL match wins as they had won 93 matches.

Which team has the most wins in the IPL final match?

Mumbai Indians have the most wins in the IPL final match. The team has reached the IPL final six times, winning on five occasions. After their first IPL final defeat to Chennai in IPL 2010, Mumbai have gone on to win the final match and consequently the IPL title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. They have beaten Chennai thrice in the IPL final.

What is the IPL 100 match-winning team list?

There are only three teams who have reached the 100-wins club in the Indian Premier League, and all them of those teams have won the IPL title more than once. Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders have are on the list of IPL’s 100-match winning teams.

Which IPL team has the most wins in a single season?

Kolkata Knight Riders have the most wins in a single season with the side winning nine consecutive matches in 2014. KKR had defeated Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab (twice), Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad (twice), Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the process.

A literature student and ardent sports lover, who was blown away by the fact that SEO helps you achieve perfection in art. Obsessed with SEO, my write-ups are more analytical yet elementary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular