Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeFantasyCricketHow Many Times Have CSK won the IPL?

How Many Times Have CSK won the IPL?

Chennai Super Kings are one of the most successful teams in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Led by MS Dhoni in every edition they have played, Chennai Super Kings have for the longest time been a team everyone wants to beat. But the question remains how many times CSK won IPL?

CSK have been IPL finalists eight times and won the IPL four times. Their latest win came in the 2021 edition of the IPL where they beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final.

CSK finished runners up in the first two editions of the IPL, narrowly going down to Rajasthan Royals and Deccan Chargers. In 2010 they broke the jinx and became winners and followed it again with a winning performance in 2011. They once were runner up in 2012 and 2013 while finishing in third place in 2014. Chennai Super Kings underwent a tumultuous time in 2016 when they were not allowed to play for two years. However, they came back with a bang in 2018 to lift the IPL trophy.

CSK had their worst season in 2020 when they failed to even qualify for the playoffs for the very first time. But came back with a bang in 2021 winning the championship a fourth time.

Let’s show you a list of how many times CSK won IPL and how they managed to win it.

CSK Winning Years: 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021

IPL 2021

Champions: Chennai Super Kings

Runners Up: Kolkata Knight Riders

CSK suffered their worst-ever season in 2020 when for the very first time in their history they even failed to qualify for the playoffs. It was an embarrassing time but MS Dhoni promised they will be back and they did! Chennai was superb in the group stages right from the start with the likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis and Josh Hazlewood doing the job for them on a consistent basis.

Even in the UAE leg of the tournament, CSK did not relent. They qualified for the playoffs in second place on the table. In the first Qualifier, they brushed aside Delhi Capitals with ease. In the final then du Plessis came up with the goods to help CSK record a more than decent score. KKR were never really in the hunt and fell short by 27 runs in the end.

IPL 2018

Champions: Chennai Super Kings

Runners Up: Sunrisers Hyderabad

CSK always remained a side that made it to the playoffs, but the IPL trophy remained elusive for a few years. Things went from bad to worse for them when they were banned for two years in 2016 due to the management’s role in the IPL 2013 spot-fixing fiasco. There were huge question marks on their return in IPL 2018, but they answered all the naysayers with an unexpected win.

Dad’s army CSK proved that experience is all that matters in the end. It was in some way destiny that CSK won the IPL trophy in 2018. They found X-factors in every game. Be it Dwayne Bravo in the opening match of the edition against Mumbai or Shane Watson in the final, CSK were relentless.

CSK finished the group stage second on the points table with 18 points. They met Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 1, who they brushed aside by two wickets. As luck would have it, CSK met Hyderabad once again in the finals and returned on top. This time around, it was Shane Watson who rewound the clock to produce a masterclass.

Batting first, Hyderabad put up a strong total of 178/6 in 20 overs, by all means, an excellent total, especially for the finals. However, Watson had other ideas. He smoked the finest 117* off 57 balls to help CSK chase down the target in a mere 18.3 overs and register a memorable win. Watson was adjudged Player of the Match, and CSK’s redemption left every fan proud.

IPL 2011

Champions: Chennai Super Kings

Runners Up: Royal Challengers Bangalore

Winning their maiden title was impressive, but the way CSK backed it up with a sensational performance in the subsequent IPL edition was even better. They started their season with a thrilling two-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders, and it only got better for them thereon.

CSK finished the IPL league stage second on the points table with nine wins and five losses. They then toppled Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 1 by 43 runs to qualify for the final. The two teams once again met in the finals, and sure enough, CSK emerged winners once again.

If the qualifier was a keenly-fought affair, the IPL final turned out to be a completely one-sided game. Murali Vijay, who is often known for his flair, took his game up a notch, blasting 95 off just 52 balls to help CSK register a mammoth 205/5 in their 20 overs. A score of that magnitude was always tough to chase, and RCB did not even come close. Eventually, the Bangalore franchise could only muster 147/8, and CSK lifted the IPL trophy second time running.

Murali Vijay was the Player of the match for his outstanding 95, while Chris Gayle took away the Player of the Series award.

IPL 2010

Champions: Chennai Super Kings

Runners Up: Mumbai Indians

With seven wins and seven losses, CSK finished the group stage of IPL 2010 in third place. They faced second-placed Chargers in the semi-finals. In what was a relatively low-scoring affair, Doug Bollinger proved to be the difference. The Australian pacer he picked four wickets for just 13 runs to help CSK win by 38 runs and advance.

In the final, the Dhoni-led side came up against Mumbai Indians in a keenly-contested match. Suresh Raina was in his element, cracking a 35-ball 57 to take CSK to 168/5.

Mumbai were up against it in the chase losing Shikhar Dhawan early. Sachin Tendulkar and Abhishek Nayar steadied the ship, but Mumbai were always behind the scoring rate. Three run outs also did not help their cause as CSK won by 22 runs to lift the IPL trophy for the first time. Suresh Raina was named Player of the Match for his half-century.

Related: How many times have KKR won the IPL?

Conclusion of How Many Times CSK Won IPL?

CSK were finalists in IPL 2019 as well, where they lost a nail-biting game against the Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai. However, IPL 2020 wasn’t as kind to them. For the first time since the start of IPL, CSK failed to make it to the playoffs, and it feels like in 2021, there could be a few changes in the side. With the IPL 2021 likely to be held in India, can we expect a revival from CSK?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23