Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Who Have Been Winners of the Emerging Player Award in IPL?

Who Have Been Winners of the Emerging Player Award in IPL?

Sunrisers Hyderabad speedster Umran Malik won the emerging player award in IPL 2022 following his brilliant stint in the Indian Premier League.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) took over by storm ever since it first started in 2008. Apart from getting players a good income and a livelihood, the IPL has served as a platform for budding players. Be it cricketers from India or abroad, they try to give their best in the cash-rich league as they know one good season can take them places. The IPL has an Emerging Player of the Year award for young cricketers taking part in the league as an added incentive.

There a few parameters for a player to be eligible for the Emerging Player award for IPL 2021. A cricketer should:

  • Have been born on or after April 1, 1994
  • Have played five or fewer Test matches or 20 or less One-Day Internationals
  • Have played 25 or fewer IPL matches (as of the start of the season)
  • Have not won the Emerging Player of the year award in the past

Let’s look at a list of cricketers who have won the emerging player award at the IPL over the years.

Emerging player award in IPL – From 2008 to 2022

IPL EditionEmerging Player of the SeasonTeam
2022Umran MalikSunrisers Hyderabad
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings
2020Devdutt PadikkalRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2019Shubman GillKolkata Knight Riders
2018Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals
2017Basil ThampiGujarat Lions
2016Mustafizur RahmanSunrisers Hyderabad
2015Shreyas IyerDelhi Capitals
2014Axar PatelPunjab Kings
2013Sanju SamsonRajasthan Royals
2012Mandeep SinghPunjab Kings
2011Iqbal AbdullahKolkata Knight Riders
2010Saurabh TiwaryMumbai Indians
2009Rohit SharmaDeccan Chargers
2008Shreevats GoswamiRoyal Challengers Bangalore

1) IPL 2008: Shreevats Goswami (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Recruited after being part of the World Cup-winning U19 India side, in Malaysia in 2008, Shreevats Goswami began his IPL with a bang. He scored one half-century and also affected five dismissals to win the first-ever Emerging award of the IPL. Goswami, however, could not carry on with his form and has since only played 31 matches in the tournament.

2) IPL 2009: Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)

One of the success stories of the IPL, five-time winning IPL captain Rohit Sharma won the Emerging Player award in 2009 for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers. Rohit scored 362 runs in 16 IPL games in 2009 at an average of 27.85. He scored one half-century and was a key reason behind the Chargers winning the IPL for the very first time.

3) IPL 2010: Saurabh Tiwary (Mumbai Indians)

Another cricketer from the 2008 India U19 World Cup-winning batch Saurabh Tiwary won the Emerging Player of the Year award in 2010. Tiwary had a breakthrough season with the Mumbai Indians unit in 2010, where he scored 419 runs in 16 matches which included three half-centuries. The impact of his performances in the tournament was such that he was soon called up to the Indian national side as well. Tiwary will play for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021.

Also Read: Which is the best team in the IPL?

4) IPL 2011: Iqbal Abdullah (Kolkata Knight Riders)

The winner of the Emerging Player of the Year award in 2011 was Iqbal Abdullah. The left-arm spinner played a crucial role in Kolkata’s campaign picking up 16 wickets in 15 matches, striking every 18.8 balls. His economy rate of 6.1 stood out. Abdullah has played for a number of teams since but hasn’t been able to cement his spot in any.

5) IPL 2012: Mandeep Singh (Kings XI Punjab)

With 432 runs in 16 matches at an average of 27, Mandeep Singh won the Emerging Player of the Season award in 2012. He turned out for Kings XI Punjab in the 2012 edition. Mandeep has largely been a successful player at the IPL. He has played for three teams since 2010 and has been a fairly regular starter for all sides.

6) IPL 2013: Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Another player who went to earn huge accolades in the latter half of the Indian Premier League, Sanju Samson, won the Emerging Player award in 2012. The youngster, playing for Rajasthan Royals, smashed 206 runs in 10 games averaging 25.75. He will captain the Rajasthan unit in the 2021 season.

7) IPL 2014: Axar Patel (Kings XI Punjab)

Axar Patel, who recently made his Test debut against England, won the Emerging Player of the tournament in 2014. Playing for the Punjab franchise, Patel picked 17 wickets in as many matches and also scored some useful runs lower down the order.

8) IPL 2015: Shreyas Iyer (Delhi Daredevils)

The current captain of the Delhi franchise, Shreyas Iyer, took the 2015 season of IPL by storm, racking up 439 runs in 14 matches at an average of 33.77 and a strike rate of 128.4. This included four scores of 50+. It came as no surprise that he won the award for the Emerging Player that season.

9) IPL 2016: Mustafizur Rahman (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

The only non-Indian to win the Emerging Player of the Season award went to the Bangladeshi pacer, Mustafizur Rahman. He was immaculate in 2016 and a key reason behind Hyderabad winning the IPL that year. He picked up 17 wickets in 16 matches and finished with the most wickets for his franchise.

10) IPL 2017: Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)

Basil Thampi was pocketed by Gujarat Lions ahead of the IPL 2017, and it turned to be a bargain for the franchise, with the speedster pocketing the Emerging Player award. He picked up 12 wickets in 11 games which included Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, and MS Dhoni, Kieron Pollard as his scalps. He could not replicate the heroics in the following seasons but was enough to get him the top award for young cricketers in 2015.

11) IPL 2018: Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)

Just by the sheer volume of runs he scored, Rishabh Pant’s season in the IPL in 2018 was one of the finest in terms of Emerging Players. The then 21 year old smacked 684 runs in 14 matches averaging 52.62, which included five half-centuries and one ton. He finished the season as the second highest run scorer. What was most impressive was a strike rate of 173.6, one of the highest that season.

12) IPL 2019: Shubman Gill (Kolkata Knight Riders)

The year 2019 was where Shubman Gill made headlines as the next big thing in Indian cricket. He had a successful U19 World Cup in 2018, where he helped India win the U19 World Cup. The next stage was the IPL, where he scored heavily as well. In 14 matches, he scored 276 runs in 14 matches with a best score of 76. He had an excellent 2020 season as well and is an important cog in KKR’s lineup.

13) IPL 2020: Devdutt Padikkal (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

It is not easy to become the talking point in a batting lineup that boasts the likes of AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli. Padikkal though, managed to outshine the duo, and in his first year of playing the IPL no less. Opening the batting, Padikkal scored 473 runs in 15 matches averaging a strong 31.53. He managed to score more runs than Kohli and De Villiers to finish at the top.

Follow the Indian Fantasy Premier League 2021, build your teams and start winning big.

Ashish Pant
A fantasy gaming enthusiast, gaming writer and an out and out cricket nerd. I am an engineer by education who found his solace in writing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular