Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Who is the Owner of SRH in IPL 2022?

Who is the Owner of SRH in IPL 2022?

SRH Owner in IPL

Kaviya Maran, the CEO of Sun TV Network, has hogged the limelight in most Sunrisers Hyderabad games and her reactions have often left social media abuzz. Kaviya Maran is the daughter of Kalanithi Maran, who is the chairman and founder of Sun TV who happens to be the owner of SRH. SRH is owned by Sun TV Network, one of the biggest TV networks in India, with 32 television channels, including Sun TV, Sun Music, Sun News, and 45 FM channels and FM radio stations.

Kalanithi Maran is the Founder and Chairman of Sun TV Network. However, the SRH owner is sparingly seen at the ground during the IPL matches when SRH are in action. CEO Kaviya Maran – the daughter of SRH owner – is often spotted during SRH’s games supporting the team rather passionately.

Kaviya Maran is actively involved in the functioning of the SRH team. She actively attends most of the games and has been often seen during the IPL auction with the other stakeholders and team management.

Financial brand value of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Financially, SRH’s brand value has dipped slightly in the last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2019, their brand value stood at approximately 59.6 million US dollars, and it was estimated to dip to 57.4 million US dollars. The 2020 edition of the IPL being played behind closed doors and in the UAE was one of the major contributors to the dip in brand value.

Read More: Hyderabad Team – The Giant Killers

On-field showing of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Among the current eight teams, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are the only Indian Premier League (IPL) team to debut after the inaugural edition. Deccan Chargers were the team based out of Hyderabad in the first five years. Once they went bankrupt and were terminated in 2012, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) came to the fore and debuted in 2013. The entire Deccan Chargers side was up in the auction, and SRH made a winning bid of 12 million US dollars per year to win the rights. They first signed a five-year contract, and they are still going strong.

SRH, or the Orange Army as they are called by fans, play their home matches at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. Despite being the youngest side in the tournament, SRH has been very consistent on the field. SRH are one of those sides which bloomed late in the IPL due to their late entry. Yet, they have created a significant fan base.

SRH aren’t always rated highly, but they have been one of the most consistent sides in the history of the IPL ever since they made their debut.

SRH over the years in IPL

In their very first year (2013), SRH made it to the playoffs. However, in the following two years (2014 and 2015), they finished sixth both times.

But since the start of the 2016 season, SRH has become supremely consistent making the playoffs every year. The David Warner-led side became IPL champions in 2016, beating the much-fancied RCB. SRH is the first to win the IPL title after finishing outside the top two after the league stages (56 games) since the playoffs were introduced in 2011.

In 2017, the franchise finished third on the points table but faltered in the Eliminator. They had a fantastic run in 2018 but fell short against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final. In 2019, they lost in the Eliminator again before losing in the second Qualifier in the 2020 season, played in the UAE.

The IPL 2021 season has by far been the worst for SRH. Only half the season may have been played, but SRH has already lost six out of their seven games. Their only win came against Punjab Kings, and on either side of this win, SRH lost three games each.

David Warner, the former captain, has been one of the icons for the SRH since the 2014 season. He has turned into an IPL beast ever since he joined the group. The likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kane Williamson and Rashid Khan are the other faces of SRH franchise on the field. Kane Williamson currently leads SRH in the IPL.

Also Read: What is SRH full form in IPL?

Ashish Pant
A fantasy gaming enthusiast, gaming writer and an out and out cricket nerd. I am an engineer by education who found his solace in writing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular