Friday, June 21, 2024
Home Fantasy How has ISL prize money increased over the years since 2014?

How has ISL prize money increased over the years since 2014?

Indian Super League has undergone a huge evolution since its inception in 2013. The brainchild of Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL), ISL has been successfully implemented by AIFF and FSDL over the last few years. The number of teams has risen from eight to eleven and in future, more teams are likely to join this footballing extravaganza. ISL prize money reallocation was done before the recently concluded season

There were severe concerns over the roadmap of the Indian football as nothing was specifically designed and the league used to be conducted over e three months period. But prior to the 2017-18 season, the league got expanded as two more teams joined and a new six months schedule was chalked.

ATK FC were the inaugural winners of the ISL championship while Hyderabad FC have been crowned the champions for the 2021-22 season.

ISL Prize Money : Evolution over the years

The league stage winners were entitled to 50 lakhs as prize money but the governing body decided to increase it to Rs 3.5 crore from the 2021-22 season. They are also qualified for the AFC Champions League. FC Goa won the league winners shield for the very first time. Mumbai City FC and Jamshedpur FC won the next two league winners shield.

the ISL champions however saw a 2 crores deduction in their prize money as they will now receive 6 crores instead of 8 crores. This has been done to bring pay parity to all the winning teams.

The runners up get Rs 3 crore, a 1 crorer reduction from the previously allocated 4 crore. The two semifinalists receive 1.5 crore each and the total prize money pool for ISL stands at 15.5 crore.

YearPrize Money

How the ISL prize money has changed

ISL 2014

ATK FC won the first ISL championship and they received Rs 8 crore for being the champions and another 1.5 crores as the semifinalists. FC Goa, Chennaiyin FC and Kerala Blasters FC.

ISL 2015

Chennaiyin FC won their maiden ISL trophy in 2015 and they also were given prize money of Rs 8 crore. FC Goa were the runners up and they received a total sum of 5.5 crores. Another two semifinalists Delhi Dynamos and ATK FC got 1.5 crs each

ISL 2016

ATK FC were adjudged the champions again and they were richer by another Rs 9.5 crore in total. Kerala Blasters FC received 5.5 crores while two other finalists Mumbai City FC and Delhi Dynamos were paid Rs 1.5 crore each.

ISL 2017-18

Chennaiyin FC became the ISL champions for the second time and they added 9.5 crore more to their coffers including championship money Rs 8 crore while Bengaluru FC pocketed 5.5 crore for being the runners up. FC Goa and Pune City FC ended in the semifinals and received 1.5 crore each.

ISL 2018-19

Bengaluru FC lifted the Indian Super League title this season and they received 9.5 crore and last season’s semifinalist FC Goa ended up being in the final and thus they got 5.5 crore. Mumbai City FC and NorthEast United FC were the other two teams in the Indian Super League semifinals and they added 1.5 crore to their prize money pool.

ISL 2019-20

ATK FC wrapped up their second Indian Super League title and got another 9.5 crore in their purse while two time champions Chenniayin FC were the runners up and thus finished with 5.5 crore.

from this season the team that finishes in the top of the table would receive a league winners shield and the prize money of shield stood at 50 lakhs. FC Goa became the first league shield winners and as promised they received a sum of Rs 50 lakhs alongside another 1.5 crore for entering the semifinals.

Bengaluru FC were the other semifinalists.

ISL 2020-21

Mumbai City FC got their hand on their maiden ISL trophy and they were also adjudged as the shield winners for topping the ISL table. The money of shield winners alongside the championship money also went to them. In total, they had a whopping 10 crore as prize money following that season.

Last season’s finalist ATK Mohun Bagan who also ended up as the winners failed to replicate their performance this time and lost to Mumbai City in the finals. They got 5.5 crorers while the other two semifinalists FC Goa and NorthEast United got Rs 1.5 crore each.

ISL 2021-22

The revise prize money of rs 3.5 crore for the league winners shield benefitted Jamshedpur FC as they ended the recently concluded season as the table toppers. They added 5 crore to their prize money fund while Hyderabad FC got 7.5 crore as a whole for their maiden Indian Super League championship.

ATK Mohun Bagan received 1.5 crore while Kerala Blasters received a sum of rs 3 crore for being in the finals.


What is the Indian Super League prize money?

The total prize money for ISL stands at 15.5 crore.

Who is the winner of the ISL golden glove?

Prabhsukhan Gill was the winner of the ISL golden glove

Who is the winner of the hero of the match?

Bartholomew Ogbeche is the winner of the hero of the match


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular