Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeFantasyCricketWho Has Hit the Longest Six in IPL history?

Who Has Hit the Longest Six in IPL history?

Former Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history.

After Punjab Kings’ Liam Livingstone hit the longest six of IPL 2022 by taking Mohammad Shami 117 meters back to the stands during the clash between PBKS vs GT, the question of who has hit the longest six in IPL history has sprung up again. The answer in Chennai Super Kings’ Albie Morkel.

Longest Six in IPL history: Top 5 list

PositionYearPlayerTeamDistance (meters)
12008Albie MorkelChennai Super Kings124 meters
22011Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab122 meters
32013Chris GayleKings XI Punjab119 meters
42010Robin UthappaRoyal Challengers Bangalore120 meters
52013Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore119 meters

South Africa’s Albie Morkel achieved the feat while playing for Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural season of the IPL. He smashed Deccan Chargers spinner Pragyan Ojha for a six which was measured at 124 metres. This to date remains the longest six in IPL history.

In all, the IPL has seen 8896 sixes hit, out of which most sixes have been smashed by Mumbai Indians (1232), followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore (1196) and Kings XI Punjab (1073).

Any time the ball is hit out of the stadium, the fans get all excited. Here we look at who has hit the longest six in IPL history.

Albie Morkel – 124 metres

The year was 2008, the batsman Albie Morkel, who was at the peak of his powers and one of the hardest hitters of the cricket ball going around. The unfortunate bowler, Pragyan Ojha. Chennai Super Kings were struggling on 97/6 in 17th over when Albie Morkel brought out his big levers. Ojha bowled a gentle loopy delivery in the slot, and the big South African got down on one knee and whacked it out of his sight over deep midwicket. The ball landed on the MA Chidambaram stadium roof and was soon seen making its way out of the ground. The six distance, when measured, was shown to be 124 m! This remains the longest six in IPL history.

Adam Gilchrist – 122 metres

Australian superstar, Adam Gilchrist’s name is a no-brainer on this list. The bowler this time around was South African pacer Charl Langeveldt. Gilchrist, playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2011, was on one of his rampages. He had already got his eye in and picked a slower delivery by Langeveldt early. As soon as he saw it in his arc, Gilchrist dismissed it out of his presence. The ball walloped to the Dharamsala stadium’s top tier and was measured to be a massive 122 m. The wicket-keeper batsman is no stranger to hitting big sixes but might have been surprised by the distance that six travelled. This remains one of the longest sixes in IPL history.

Also Read: Who is the highest run-scorer in IPL?

Chris Gayle – 119 metres

How can we talk about the longest six in IPL and not have Chris Gayle’s name in it? The burly Jamaican holds the record of hitting the most number of sixes in IPL (349 in all). He also has the highest score in the history of IPL – 175 off just 66 balls against Pune Warriors India in the 2013 season. During the knock, Gayle smashed 17 sixes, one of which travelled 119 m! The bowler on this occasion was left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza. He committed the cardinal sin of tossing the ball up to Gayle in his slot, and the opener creamed it out of sights over deep midwicket to record one of the longest sixes ever in IPL history.

Liam Livingstone – 117 meters

The longest six of IPL 2022 came during Punjab Kings’ game against Gujarat Titans when Liam Livingstone hit Mohammed Shami for a 117m-long six while chasing a target of 144 runs in 20 overs.

English cricketer Liam Livingstone has been having a brilliant IPL this time with four of his maximums getting into the longest six of the season. His other three huge sixes have travelled distances of 108m, 106, and 105m.

Longest Six in IPL 2023

RankPlayerTeamDistance of six (In metres) 
1Faf du PlessisRoyal Challengers Bangalore115m
2Shivam DubeChennai Super Kings102m
3Rinku SinghKolkata Knight Riders101m
4Venkatesh IyerKolkata Knight Riders101m
5Rahmanullah GurbazKolkata Knight Riders101m

Conclusion of Longest Six in IPL History

There are different kinds of six-hitters in the game. Some of them, such as Chris Gayle, MS Dhoni, David Miller, Ross Taylor, use brute strength and power while the likes of Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Adam Gilchrist, AB de Villiers, and Robin Uthappa rely more on timing. IPL 2021 has also seen some of the longest sixes hit but none of them are yet to breach the 110-meter mark.

Will someone break the record for the longest six in IPL history this year?

Play and create your own team on MPL, download Fantasy Cricket now.

Umaima Saeed
Umaima Saeed
A writer who primarily writes on cricket. As of 2021, she has covered cricket for more than a dozen publications.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23

june 23