Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket Who is the owner of Mumbai Indians?

Who is the owner of Mumbai Indians?

Perhaps, Mumbai Indians (MI) is one of the strongest teams in the history of the Indian Premier League as they have lifted the coveted IPL trophy five times. The defending champions, also called the late bloomers, keep their good form right from the start of the IPL season and give a tough competition to their rivals. The IPL success of the Mumbai Indians franchise and its fierce winning mentality has garnered millions of fans for the team. The fans like to keep themselves updated with every piece of information and news about the team such as the owner, players in the squad, the key players, the head coach, and more.

Mumbai Indians Owner

Mumbai Indians, a franchise team based in Mumbai, is owned by the biggest conglomerate in India, Reliance Industries. Reliance Industries owns the franchise through its 100% subsidiary, IndiaWin Sports.

Surely, every IPL fan may have seen Nita Ambani multiple times during a Mumbai Indians match and when the franchise won the IPL title. The owner of Reliance Industries Limited (RIL), Mukesh Ambani, and his wife Nita Ambani are the owners of the Mumbai Indians team. While Mukesh Ambani heads the RIL and owns Mumbai Indians, Nita Ambani represents the team in their activities.

The Mumbai Indians franchise the most expensive team to be sold in the Indian Premier League. It was bought by Reliance Industries, owned by Mukesh Ambani, for $111.9 million. RIL acquired the rights to the franchise for 10 years.

Also Read: Which Bollywood Celebrity is the Owner of KKR?

Details about who is the owner of Mumbai Indians

Mukesh Ambani is the Chairman, Managing Director, and the largest shareholder of Reliance Industries. His spouse, Nita Ambani, the co-owner of MI, is the chairperson of the Reliance Foundation. Both Mukesh and Nita Ambani frequent Mumbai Indian matches, especially when the franchise is playing in its home ground, the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

A Brief on the Mumbai Indians Franchise and Mumbai Indian owner

Mumbai Indians is the most successful franchise in the history of IPL with 5 IPL titles and two Champions League Twenty20 wins.

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians, play their home matches in the Wankhede Stadium. In the first two IPL seasons, the Rohit Sharma-led team played its home matches in the DY Patil Stadium.

The team’s motto and the theme song is ‘Duniya Hila Denge Hum’ which means We will rock the world. The song “Akkha Mumbai Khelega” made by a fan is also popular for being played every time after a wicket or a boundary of the team.

The first skipper for Mumbai Indians was Sachin Tendulkar, followed by Harbhajan Singh in the fifth season. However, Harbhajan Singh was replaced after the fifth season by Rohit Sharma, who is also the current skipper for the team. Mahela Jayawardene is the head coach for the Mukesh Ambani-owned team, and Sachin Tendulkar is the team icon.

Some of the prominent players of Mumbai Indians in the recent seasons are captain Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, vice-captain Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Quinton de Kock, and Ishan Kishan. The major rivals for Mumbai Indians are Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Here’s all about the owner of Chennai Super Kings.

Mumbai Indians’ IPL Journey


The initial seasons for Mumbai Indians were full of struggle. The 2008 MI squad included several star cricketers such as Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, and Shaun Pollock. Sachin Tendulkar, who was the captain, was also made an icon player for the team. MI lost the first four games and went through some other player incidents, finishing fifth for the season.

For the 2009 season, Lasith Malinga returned to the team after missing the first season due to an injury. The team won the opening match against Chennai Super Kings but failed to put up a consistent performance during the season. MI majorly relied on Sachin Tendulkar and Lasith Malinga for batting and bowling, while other players’ contribution was minimal.


The 2010, 2011, and 2012 IPL seasons witnessed the rise of Mumbai Indians as a strong team. In the 2010 auction, MI bought the Trinidadian all-rounder Kieron Pollard. Since the Wankhede Stadium was under renovation, the team had to shift their home ground to Brabourne Stadium. Mumbai Indians won 7 matches out of the first 8 and made it to the top of the points table. The team’s success was attributed to key players Tendulkar, Harbhajan, Lasith Malinga, Ambati Raydu, and Saurabh Tiwary. Beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the semi-finals with the major help of Kieron Pollard, MI made it to the final but was defeated by Chennai Super Kings by 22 runs. The season’s Orange Cap was awarded to Tendulkar, who scored 618 runs at a strike rate of 132.6. Mumbai also qualified for the 2010 Champions League T20 but was eliminated in the group stage.

2013: The first IPL Title

The first season for Rohit Sharma as a captain of Mumbai Indians made history for the team as it won its first IPL title. Rohit Sarma took the lead as Ricky Ponting was dropped out from the playing eleven due to a slump in his performance as a batsman.

Also Read: Who is the owner of RCB in 2021?

2014 – 2018: Chasing Success

Since the 2013 season, the trail of IPL wins started for Mumbai as it set a record for winning the T20 tournament title in odd years – 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. In 2014, 2016, and 2018, Mumbai Indians finished 4th, 5th, and 5th, respectively.

2019 & 2020: Breaking the record

The Rohit Sharma-led team defeated CSK in the 2019 final match by 1 run and won the title for the 4th time. The final game was a treat to the eyes of IPL fans as they watched Mumbai Indians bowler Malinga take a wicket on the last ball. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya won the Harrier Super Striker of the Match for the 3rd and 2nd time, respectively. Hardik Pandya has scored 91 off 34 balls against KKR.

In the 2020 IPL season, Mumbai broke the superstition of winning in only odd years and won their fifth title. The most runs of the season were scored by Ishan Kishan, while Jasprit Bumrah took the highest number of wickets.

Conclusion of Mumbai Indians owner

It is difficult to predict if Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians could have the 2021 IPL season as it faced tough competition from its arch-rivals. The Mumbai Indians franchise has the largest fan base in the world, which proves how successful it has been in the Indian Premier League. Although the IPL 2021 is suspended, you can still enjoy your favorite sport by playing different fantasy cricket leagues on MPL.

Vijaya Bharti
Vijaya Bharti is an experienced gaming writer fuelled by a passion for virtual worlds and interactive storytelling. Her profound understanding of game design and culture shines through her compelling content pieces captivating readers. She finds leisure in playing online games, writing about anything related to games, and watching web series.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular