Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Home Fantasy Champions League Winners List: Know every winner of the tournament

Champions League Winners List: Know every winner of the tournament

The UEFA Champions League has been won by 22 different football clubs since the 1992-93 season from 13 other footballing countries. English Premier League club Chelsea FC were the most recent name to be added to the UEFA Champions League winners list after they defeated Manchester City in an all-England Champions League final in the 2020-21 season.

Here’s a year-by-year representation of the UEFA Champions League winners list.

UEFA Champions League Winners List

SeasonUCL WinnersRunners-upFinal Score
2020-21ChelseaManchester City1–0
2019-20Bayern MunichParis Saint-Germain1-0
2018-19LiverpoolTottenham Hotspur2-0
2017-18Real MadridLiverpool3-1
2016-17Real MadridJuventus4-1
2015-16Real MadridAtlético Madrid1-1 (5–3)
2013-14Real MadridAtlético Madrid4-1
2012-13Bayern MunichBorussia Dortmund2-1
2011-12ChelseaBayern Munich1-1 (4–3)
2010-11BarcelonaManchester United3-1
2009-10InternazionaleBayern Munich2-0
2008-09BarcelonaManchester United2-0
2007-08Manchester UnitedChelsea1-1 (6–5)
2001-02Real MadridBayer Leverkusen2-1
2000-01Bayern MunichValencia1-1
1999-2000Real MadridValencia3-0
1998-99Manchester UnitedBayern Munich2-1
1997-98Real MadridJuventus1-0
1996-97Borussia DortmundJuventus3-1

Organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), the Champions League is a yearly tournament played in a league cum knockout format between the top European football clubs. It is widely followed by everyone worldwide.

Apart from the winners of various football leagues around Europe, the Champions League also has clubs finishing in the top two, three, or four positions depending on the UEFA coefficient that is used to seed each football team. Teams with lower coefficient or poor finish in the previous editions must play the qualification stages to qualify for the UEFA Champions League finals.

The UEFA Champions League finals kick off with the group stages where 32 teams compete from eight groups – with each group having four teams. Two teams – the winning team and the runners up – progress from each group to the first knockout stage, known as the round of 16.

The UEFA Champions League draw taking place after the round-robin stages sees the winners of a group getting pitted against the runners-up of another group. As per rules, two teams of the same nation cannot meet each other in the round of 16, a practice that changes once the tournament enters the quarter-finals.

Interestingly, the Champions League era only started from 1992-93, before which the tournament was known as the European Cup. The European Cup had started back in 1955 and was completely a knockout tournament played amongst different winners of all European football leagues.

Here is a list of all European Cup winners from its inception in 1955 to the 1991-92 season.

European Cup winners list

SeasonUCL WinnersRunners-upFinal Score
1990-91Red Star BelgradeMarseille0-0*
1988-89MilanSteaua Bucureşti4-0
1986-87PortoBayern Munich2-1
1985-86Steaua BucureştiBarcelona0-0
1981-82Aston VillaBayern Munich1-0
1980-81LiverpoolReal Madrid1-0
1979-80Nottingham ForestHamburg1-0
1978-79Nottingham ForestMalmö FF1-0
1977-78LiverpoolClub Brugge1-0
1976-77LiverpoolBorussia Mönchengladbach3-1
1975-76Bayern MunichSaint-Etienne1-0
1974-75Bayern MunichLeeds United2-0
1973-74Bayern MunichAtlético Madrid1-1
1973-74 ReplayBayern MunichAtlético Madrid4-0
1967-68Manchester UnitedBenfica4-1
1965-66Real MadridPartizan2-1
1963-64InternazionaleReal Madrid3-1
1961-62BenficaReal Madrid5-3
1959-60Real MadridEintracht Frankfurt7-3
1958-59Real MadridStade de Reims2-0
1957-58Real MadridMilan3-2
1956-57Real MadridFiorentina2-0
1955-56Real MadridStade de Reims4-3

The most successful club in UEFA Champions League history is La Liga side Real Madrid, who have won the prestigious tournament a whopping 13 times. Teams from La Liga (Spanish League) have won the Champions League the most times (18). 

They are followed by English teams who have won the championship 16 times. While Premier League side Manchester United won the UEFA Champions League three times, their archrivals Liverpool have lifted the trophy the most number of times – six.   

European giants of yesteryears, AC Milan from Serie A (Italian League) have the most champions league titles – seven. Apart from them, Inter Milan and Juventus have won the tournament three and two times respectively, to make Serie A one of the most successful leagues in the UEFA Champions League. 

Bundesliga giants Bayern Munich won the UEFA Champions League six times.

Here is the year by year representation of all the clubs that have won the European Cup and the UEFA Champions League from their respective national league.

UEFA Champions League Winners List: By Clubs

Club (League)No. of titlesYears won
Real Madrid (La Liga)131956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018
AC Milan (Serie A)71963, 1969, 1989, 1990, 1994, 2003, 2007
Bayern Munich (Bundesliga)61974, 1975, 1976, 2001, 2013, 2020
Liverpool (English Premier League)61977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005, 2019
Barcelona (La Liga)51992, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015
Ajax (Eredivisie)41971, 1972, 1973, 1995
Inter Milan (Serie A)31964, 1965, 2010
Manchester United (English Premier League)31968, 1999, 2008
Juventus (Serie A)21985, 1996
Benfica (Premeira Liga)21961, 1962
Nottingham Forest (English Premier League)21979, 1980
Porto (Primeira Liga)21987, 2004
Chelsea (English Premier League)22012, 2021
Celtic (Scottish Premiership)11967
Hamburg (Bundesliga)11983
Steaua Bucuresti (Liga 1)11986
Marseille (Ligue 1)11993
Borussia Dortmund (Bundesliga)11997
Feyenoord (Eredivisie)11970
Aston Villa (English Premier League)11982
PSV Eindhoven (Eredivisie)11988
Red Star Belgrade (Serbian SuperLiga)11991


Who has won the Champions League the most times?

La Liga side Real Madrid have won the Champions League the most number of times – 13. They had won five straight titles from 1955 to 1960. Their most recent winning streak came in 2015, where they won three consecutive times until 2017.

Who has won 5 Champions League?  

Real Madrid’s archrival Barcelona have won five Champions League so far. Three of those five titles have come in the Lionel Messi era.

How many teams have won Champions League in the world?

22 different football teams have won the Champions League from 13 different nations. And 14 of those winners have managed to lift the trophy more than once.

A literature student and ardent sports lover, who was blown away by the fact that SEO helps you achieve perfection in art. Obsessed with SEO, my write-ups are more analytical yet elementary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular