Thursday, April 25, 2024
Home Fantasy Cricket WPL 2024: Mumbai Indians' Squad, Fixtures and Players to Watch Out For

WPL 2024: Mumbai Indians’ Squad, Fixtures and Players to Watch Out For

The second edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) will be played from February 24 to March 17. Just like the previous year, this season will also have five teams vying for the prestigious silverware. However, unlike the previous edition, which took place solely in Mumbai, matches for this year’s event will be played across Bangalore and New Delhi. All the matches are scheduled to kick off at 7:30 PM IST.

Mumbai Indians 

Defending champions Mumbai Indians are a formidable side. Under the ownership of Indiawin Sports, who also own the men’s team, the Mumbai Indians are led by the dynamic Harmanpreet Kaur and coached by Charlotte Edwards. Last year, they finished second in the group stage, then beat UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals in the eliminator and final, respectively, to win the title.

Hayley Matthews was their top wicket-taker last year with 16 wickets, while Natalia Sciver was their top run-scorer with 332 runs. The Mumbai Indians will look to defend their title when the WPL 2024 gets underway. They will begin their campaign against the Delhi Capitals in the season’s opening match on February 23 at Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Mumbai Indians squad 

Mumbai Indians retained 13 players and released Dhara Gujjar, Sonam Yadav, Heather Graham and Neelam Bisht. At the auction, they acquired the services of South African pacer Shabnim Ismail for Rs 1.20 crore in the auction. The other players they snapped up for this season are Fatima Jaffer, S Sanjana, Amandeep Kaur and Keethana Balakrishnan.

Their biggest strength lies in their all-rounders department. Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr and Hayley Mathews are some of the best all-rounders in the world. The addition of Shabnim Ismail, one of the best pacers in women’s cricket, will further bolster their squad this season.

In Harmanpreet Kaur, the team not only has a world-class batter but also an experienced captain. On paper, Mumbai Indians look one of the strongest teams this season.

Full squad – Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr*, Chloe Tryon*, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews*, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong*, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt*, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail*, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer, SB Keerthana

Predicted XI – Yastika Bhatia (wk), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Amelia Kerr, Amanjot Kaur, S Sajana, Pooja Vastrakar, Saika Ishaque, Shabnim Ismail, Jintimani Kalita

Players to watch out for this season 

Shabnim Ismail – South African pace bowler Shabnim Ismail secured a deal with the Mumbai Indians for Rs. 1.20 crore after being released by UP Warriorz ahead of the second season, having previously been acquired for Rs. 1 crore. Ismail, even at the age of 35, is among the most dangerous pacers in women’s cricket. She showcased her prowess during the 2023 Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) while representing the Hobart Hurricanes, where she claimed 13 wickets in 14 matches with an impressive economy rate of 6.22.

She also brings vast international experience, having played for South Africa in 127 WODIs, 113 WT20Is, and one Test, accumulating a total of 317 wickets. Her inclusion bolsters the Mumbai Indians’ bowling arsenal, bringing both quality and depth. Having retired from international cricket, Ismail will now be putting in all her focus into domestic cricket.

Harmanpreet Kaur – Harmanpreet Kaur was one of the standout performers for the franchise last year. In nine innings, she scored 281 runs at a strike rate of over 135. However, her recent performances in international cricket have been disappointing – Kaur scored just 26 runs in six games in the limited overs series against Australia in January. Her numbers were disappointing in the T20I series against England too.

But that doesn’t take away much from her being one of the best in the business. Talking about her numbers in the WBBL 2023, Kaur scored 321 runs in 14 matches at an average and strike rate of 29.18 and 103.88.

She brings with her a wealth of experience. Kaur has represented India in 161 T20Is, 130 ODIs and five Tests. In the shortest format, she has scored 3204 runs and taken 32 wickets.

Natalie Sciver – Natalie Sciver was the second top run-scorer in the WPL 2023, and the top run-scorer for the Mumbai Indians. The all-rounder amassed 332 runs in 10 innings at an average of 66.40 and a strike rate of 140.08. These numbers include three half centuries. With the ball, she picked up 10 wickets at an economy of 7.13.

At the 2023 WBBL, Sciver scored 209 runs in eight innings at a strike rate of 132 and also picked up four wickets. In international cricket, she has a batting average of 46 in ODIs and 27.01 in T20Is and a total of 151 wickets combined in both formats.

Hayley Matthews – another all-rounder Mumbai Indians boast of is West Indies’ Hayley Matthews. Last season, Matthews scored 271 runs at a strike rate of 126.05. With the ball, she was the tournament’s leading wicket taker, having picked up 16 wickets in 10 matches and registering an economy of 5.94.

At the WBBL 2023, she scored 255 runs at an average of 19.51 and a strike rate of almost 122 while also picking up 14 wickets in as many games.

Her international cricket experience will also be crucial to the Mumbai Indians. In 80 ODIs, she has a batting average of 27.61 along with 94 wickets. In the shortest format, she has a batting average and strike rate of 24.40 and 111. As a spin bowler, Hayley has taken 185 wickets in 168 limited overs games.

Saika Ishaque – Saika Ishaque was one of the standout bowlers in the WPL 2023. She was the fifth highest wicket-taker and the highest wicket-taker among Indian bowlers, with 15 wickets in 10 matches at an economy of 7.00. She poses threat in the middle overs and will be captain Kaur’s go to spinner.

Full schedule of Mumbai Indians for WPL 2024

Feb 23: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Feb 25: Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Feb 28: Mumbai Indians vs UP Warriorz At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 1: UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 2: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 5: Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians At M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 7: UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians At Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 9: Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants At Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi at 7.30 PM IST

Mar 12: Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore At Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi at 7.30 PM IST



Umaima Saeed
A writer who primarily writes on cricket. As of 2021, she has covered cricket for more than a dozen publications.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular