Saturday, December 9, 2023
Home Fantasy Cricket What is IPL Long Form in Cricket?

What is IPL Long Form in Cricket?

The 14th edition of IPL is already rolling, and the fans are glued to their screens. While IPL fans engage in heavy discussions about the players and teams’ past performances, there are also many debates on the full form of IPL and its origin. As a cricket fan, you may already know what the IPL long form is; however, the fans who have a newfound interest in cricket are eager to know more about IPL, the full form of IPL, its history, and more about this exciting cricket format. So, here’s taking a deeper dive into the Twenty20 cricket format.

What is the full form of IPL?

The full form of IPL is the Indian Premier League, founded in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the launch of the franchise-based t20 cricket format to start from April 2008. IPL is also known as the Indian Twenty20 cricket league, which consists of eight franchises based on eight different cities in India that compete against each other.

An interesting read: Which IPL 2021 team has the most fans?

A Brief on Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is usually held between March and May every year in India. However, the 2020 edition was held between September to November due to COVID-19. Essentially, IPL is a Twenty20 Cricket Tournament that ends in 20 overs played by each team. The games are short and fast-paced, which makes them more appealing and thrilling for the fans. In fact, it is the world’s most-attended cricket league. IPL has witnessed 13 seasons up to now, with the 14th edition having commenced on the 9th of April 2021.

Rules of the Indian Premier League

The IPL Indian Premier League is played for 20 overs, and each team plays two matches against each other. Each IPL franchise must have 18-25 players with not more than 8 overseas players. In the playing XI, a team can have a maximum of 4 overseas players. Each team should also have an uncapped player. Each franchise buys players in an auction with a maximum salary cap of INR 850 million for the entire squad.

Also Read: Who is the owner of CSK in 2021?

The 8 Franchises of IPL

The 2008 IPL season began with 8 local franchise teams. Over the years, several teams have changed or modified their names, and currently, the 8 teams that play in IPL are:

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Delhi Capitals (DC) (formerly known as Delhi Daredevils)

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Punjab Kings (PBKS) (formerly known as Kings XI Punjab KXIP)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Winners of Past IPL Seasons

The winner of the first season was RR, and the previous edition was MI. Here are the winners of all seasons:

2020: Mumbai Indians

2019: Mumbai Indians

2018: Chennai Super Kings

2017: Mumbai Indians

2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad

2015: Mumbai Indians

2014: Kolkata Knight Riders

2013: Mumbai Indians

2012: Kolkata Knight Riders

2011: Chennai Super Kings

2010: Chennai Super Kings

2009: Deccan Chargers

2008: Rajasthan Royals

Conclusion of IPL Long form

The competition during the IPL tournament is intense, with fans cheering for their favourite teams. Until now, only Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore have never won the IPL title, and like any other season, it will be thrilling to watch which team will be the IPL 2021 winner. If you are an IPL fan, you can make the most of the games by playing the fantasy league on MPL and putting your cricket knowledge to the test.

Vijaya Bharti
A postgraduate in accounting and finance, she embraced content writing as her full-time profession. She is a Gaming Writer but her endless desire to learn new things enables her to write about just anything that intrigues her. She enjoys learning in the process as she believes there is no end to gaining knowledge.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments